Pineapple Bread Pudding with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yum! I had leftover cranberry bread that was a mix of heels and pieces so I wanted something to do with it. However, had no milk--hubs used that up with breakfast smoothies. So, I went looking and found this. I scaled the servings down to 3 and used fresh pineapple I chopped in the food processor and just brown sugar instead of white. recipe doesn't say what size dish, so I used 4 baking crocks and baked at time and temp directed. Turned out very yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is very good. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Review in 2nd paragraph. Bread pudding began as a practical use for putting dried up bread stuffs to use. The eggs and milk are really meant to add moisture back to the bread but the benefit is that the pudding/cake ends up in a delicious moist state. Comfort food to the MAX. If you simply keep to dry to moist ingredients in the same ratio as this recipe lays out you are free to toss in whatever flavor combos you like...or you have on hand! You could add leftover rice or any fruits you like or cooked quinoa or soaked Chia seeds. Fresh ground flax seeds would add a delightful nutty flavor. Poppy seeds and chopped oranges or lemons would be fun. Just use the basics and have fun. This is a very good pudding. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 c (just my preference--not that there is anything wrong with the original amount) I made mine from a cinnamon/raisin bread and a soft wheat combination. I added moist chopped prunes (btw 1/2 c and 3/4). I also tipped in shot of rum to anchor the flavor...the alcohol bakes out so there is no need for the breath-alizer. OH... and I made two. I let the first one sit for about 10 minutes before I baked and the second one went in right away. The second one raised higher and was lighter so don't let it sit. Yum. Next time I feel ambitious I will make a baked custard and serve them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
It is FANTASTIC. I cut the sugar to 2/3 a cup and used raisin challah but otherwise followed it exactly. My hubby adored it...and he doesn't like bread pudding! I baked until brown and ate it hot. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Needs a little less sugar and I used sourdough bread instead. But it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Fantabulous recipe. I am not normally a bread pudding fan, but I had all the ingredients in the house so I decided to try the recipe. Wow it was delicious and made the house smell wonderful. Needless to say the entire pan of bread pudding was gone by days end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wow, was this ever delicious! I didn't have milk, but I found this recipe using pineapple. I must say I was a little apprehensive, but WOW, it's so good! I modified it bit just by substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for the white sugar, added some nutmeg and cinnamon. Oh, I also macerated my raisens in 1/4 cup of rum and added the whole thing too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My gf and I won a crockpot competition with some variations to this recipe. Keeping a bread pudding moist while holding temp for several hours does not come naturally, but can be done... with a load of butter and good amount of fruit. We cut up a whole large challah and baked the cubes slightly to make sure they were dried and hard. This is presumably about double the quantity of bread listed in this recipe. To make the custard we used 7 medium eggs, a full cup of walnuts, a full cup of raisins, 3.5 sticks of butter, 1 cup of powdered sugar, and basically an entire 20 oz can of pineapple chunks (not crushed). We went one layer of bread, followed by a well distributed layer of custard, and then did another layer on top of that the same way. Then we topped it all with fresh pineapple chunks (not canned) and dusted those with brown sugar. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Lissner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delnorth
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I didn't have raisins so I used poppy seeds.. Nice stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
best yet! there was none left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States