Pineapple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this yesterday and loved the filling but was not really happy with the crust. I'm not sure what I did wrong but the crust didn't solidify very much and the taste was rather bland even though I added cinnamon and nutmeg as others suggested. I think it might taste better with some kind of brown sugar topping instead. My husband did like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used fresh pineapple and cut back on the sugar for the filling. Next time I will add some cinnamon to the crumble as we thought it lacked. I may also use butter versus the shortening to add better flavor to the crumble. But we love pineapple so it was still a hit with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing recipe and followed someone elses tip to add cinnamon to the crumble and vanilla to the filling, turned out great. Being diabetic though, would like to know the nutrition breakdown of the bars if anyone has it,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've just made this recipe and WOW!!! Awesome!! I just changed a few ingredients, instead of the cup of water,I added 1Cup of pineapple juice and added vanilla to the brown sugar and shortening mixture. Trust me you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was loved by all! I did use pineapple juice in place of the water, as I had some to use up. The only other change I made was to sprinkle flaked coconut over the crust layer before poring the pineapple mixture on it. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used a 20 oz can of pineapple with juice and decreased the water to 1/4 cup. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
True "from scratch" taste. Very good. Takes some effort - and plenty of ingredients - but worth it if you want a taste that doesn't seem like it came from a mix. I would be proud to serve this. The crust was almost cake-like and you could taste the oatmeal, which I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I love it! Giving a first try on this recipe and was very happy it turn out to be very successful. Thank u for the lovely and delicious recipe. Looking forward to try NEW recipe from allrecipes.com ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I thought this was very good. After reading other reviews, I used an 8x8 pan, but I think after using it, a 9x13 pan would have been fine. The only change I made was to use a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple as that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This turned out pretty good. My topping was a little too dry for my taste so I may use butter instead of shortening next time. I also used pineapple juice instead of the cup of water. I also added freshly ground nutmeg and cinnamon to the topping and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tershme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States