Pineapple Bacon Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I will never eat a regular hamburger at home again!!! This was great, We had to make do with the George Foreman as we ran out of propane. I cooked the pineapple and bacon separately and then just layered it onto top of cooked hamburger. Next time I will stick a slice of cheddar in there. The pineapple gives it a tangy taste. I think this may be even better on ground pork. Thank you! ***UPDATE- can be made the same way and tastes just as good with a boca burger and the soy bacon from Morningstar Farms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I made these for our Labor day cookout yesterday. I was so embaressed. This is a horrible recipe. The burgers fall apart and into the grill and the bacon didn't even cook all the way. I used lean ground beef, but still the combination of the hamburger and bacon grease kept threatening to put the fire out. Basicaly when all was said and done the hotdogs, that were suppost to be for the kids, turned out to be all we ended up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
What a yummy recipe? As other reviewers suggested, grilled the bacon and pineapple separately. I didn't have rings of pineapple so I used tidbits, placing them on a piece of foil. Treat the burgers very gently. I added a bit of plain breadcrumbs to the seasoned meat to help everything bind and flipped them very carefully. They were deliclious and went well with the Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinigarette recipe from this site. Flavors matched beautifully. Also served with a great Napa Zinfindel. What a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I used this recipe for chicken breats and it was great. Can't wait to try on hamburgers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
oh ho, now this is a worthy burger! The meat can be a little delicate until you get it on the grill, but if you're careful, you'll be fine. I wouldn't want to miss out on the great flavor of the pineapple and bacon grilling right on the beef. We had no trouble with anyting falling apart or burning. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent! These burgers taste great! The BBQ sauce, the pineapple, and the bacon are an incredible combination and really give these burgers a Polynesian flare. I used 1 pound of ground beef (for two people), 1 cup BBQ sauce, and I diced up some of the pineapple and added it to the meat mixture to enhance the Polynesian flavor. Next time I’ll add pineapple tidbits instead. To prevent the burgers from falling apart, I added about a 1¼ cup of plain breadcrumbs and an egg to bind. I grilled the pineapple slices separately from the burgers. For crispy bacon, I put the bacon slices onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, covered with more parchment and then another cookie sheet, and baked in the oven at 400° for about 25 minutes. Assembled everything together on a toasted bun and topped with more BBQ sauce…Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I loved these burgers. I took ground turkey with crushed pineapple, turkey bacon, grilled pineapple rings, grilled red onion, and barbecue sauce and served on a bun. SOOO Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
The bacon part is a pain to do and actutally, so is the pineapple, but the pineapple part is definitely worth it. Adds an interesting flavor to the burger. As a bonus, pineapple juices improve the taste of your own bodily fluids and secretions. Really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I think this was great, my family loved it. the only thing i would leave out is the BBQ sauce ,it made the burgers fall apart .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very good, but probably better (and easier) to cook pineapple and bacon separate from the patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States