Pineapple Bacon Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Loved these. My suggestion get lean beef, stick to the fatty bacon and DO NOT cook separate. If you do, whats the point? When you cook them together you get the bacon and pineapple flavor IN the burger. Otherwise it's just a garnish like lettuce. Next time I make them I will try mixing an egg or breadcrumbs in the burger to make it hold together better. But I loved them. Being messy just adds to the fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerTomato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I made a few mods, but these burgers were AWESOME! My kids both ate two each. I just finished off the last one for lunch. I mixed a package of onion soup mix, 1/2 c BBQ and a small can of drained pineapple tidbits into 2# of meat and then made patties. I fried the bacon seperately, as I have an aversion to undercooked bacon. I was too hungry to wait for the charcoal on the grill, so I cooked them in a grill pan on the stove. They were very delicate, and I kept having to press pineapple back into the burgers, but we managed. We topped them with swiss cheese, tomato and a little more BBQ. I got 8 burgers out of this recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe! We really enjoyed it and will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Granted, I made this on a little George Forman but these were super watery and lacked a lot of flavor to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are muy delicioso! I made the mistake of grilling these without foil or anything under them, and so they fell apart a little, soin the future I will be following the tips to let them firm up in the fridge and using a griddle. These were by far the tastiest burgers I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIJo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good with a few changes. Grilled on stovetop using griddle. First grilled pineapple slices w/ a little brown sugar. Added onion soup mix to the the hamburger. Turkey bacon made in oven. Stacked everything on a whole wheat bun with a little extra bbq sauce. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were pretty good! However they ended up falling apart. Next time I would totally add egg to keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Absoultely AWESOME! I didnt have any issue with falling apart it must be the BBQ sauce I used. It worked well with the meat. I only used about half of what the recipe called for. My kids loved them. I did grill the bacon and pineapple separate and i also mixed some of the pineapple juice into the meat and coated it on top as I grilled the burgers......AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htruett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've made these twice now and the family loves them! Here's how to keep them from falling apart: Form the burgers and then put them in the fridge for 30 minutes. What happens is the fat in the meat gets soft from handling. Letting it chill for a while will firm the burgers up for cooking. I do not agree with cooking the bacon and pineapple seperately. Just be sure to cook with indirect heat and let the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor! The salty bacon, contrasted with the sweet pineapple and BBQ sauce of your choice, is a winner! As others mentioned, preparing the pineapple and bacon separately removed a lot of headache. These burgers don't crumble, but they don't hold together easily either. Remedying it through bread crumbs or some other means is suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
What a great combination and very delicious!! I did substitute the BBQ sauce for teriyaki sauce since I did not have any BBQ sauce. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States