Pineapple Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. I will make it again and again. Just one word of caution. Although the directions clearly stated 9 x 13 pan, I made it in a tube pan. The directions on the cake mix stated in big bold letters, DO NOT GREASE PAN, so I did't. BIG, BIG, MISTAKE. The cake stuck to the pan and came completely apart. Sooo, I just took the pieces, put them in a 9 x 13 pan and spread the Cool Whip topping over them. Everyone still loved it. I did add a small can of pineapple to the Cool Whip, along with a couple of drops of yellow food coloring, just for a little added touch. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The addition of the pineapple makes the angel food much too dense for the cooking time specified. I cooked it for 25 minutes and my cake collapsed. This cake really needs 35-40 minutes of cooking time if it is to stay intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I have made this cake several times. I use an angel food cake pan, but even when using a 9x13, you still need to cool it upside down. Also, I frost it with a small can of crushed pineapple (drained) mixed into a container of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizjeep

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Super easy. I added 1/2 cup coconut as someone suggest, and think I'll add 1/2 tsp. rum extract next time. It did require about ten extra minutes in my oven. So, for those who had trouble with it falling, I would suggest to cook it until it is golden brown AND has an even surface. (If not done, the center appears higher than the sides.) It was so moist that I don't think you could easily dry it out by adding five or ten mintues to the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
How easy was this cake to make? Unbelievable! Made one small addition...added 1/2 cup shredded coconut to the batter prior to cooking...so great. Took this to my inlaws house and they went gaga. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I believe the failures may have come from an Angel Food cake mix with the two bag mixing process. I recently had a failure with this type which happened to be a store brand. Previous times I've used a name brand that only had 1 bag in the box that didn't require beating the eggwhites separately in the box directions. I also make it in the 9x13 pan ungreased and use a spatula to mix it right in the pan. It does seem to be a little sticky to get out but you can't beat the convenience of throwing three things in a bag to "Take & Bake" at another location.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
You can't beat this cake for simplicity and tastiness. I've made it twice, the first time I followed the recipe exactly, like that's hard! And it was very good, especially considering how low in calories it is. The second time, I splurged and added a cup of shredded coconut to the batter, and some vanilla extract. I iced the cake with a canned cream cheese frosting mixed with more shredded coconut, a few drops of yellow food coloring and a teaspoon or so of coconut extract. I sprinkled a cup or so of chopped and toasted peacans. Yum! I'm sure that my diet is in shambles, but it is worth it! Hello cake, good bye waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Thank you soooooo much for posting this recipe! I would have given it 10 stars if I could. It is so easy; my 5 year old son practically made the whole thing. And the taste!!! Heavenly. It is the perfect combination of delicate angel food and sweet pineapple. A great low fat dessert and perfect for my weight watchers diet. I used lite Cool Whip so a serving size only has 1 gram of fat!! Delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This one gets 5 stars simply because it's not much more difficult than boiling water. I tried it just for the heck of it and took it to a party. It was so good I didn't bother frosting it with the Cool Whip and it wasn't missed. I recommend that we all keep a box of the cake mix and a can of the pineapple in the pantry for those "need something FAST" times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I made this cake twice in the last 24 hrs. It was super easy to mix and looked beautiful in the oven. HOWEVER, both times it fell within seconds of being taken out of the oven and I ended up with a pancake! I am so frustrated now!! I needed to bring a cake to work and I'm out of time and will have to go out and buy one-I HATE That!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States