Pineapple Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this today and the taste was very good. I'm not sure what I did wrong but when I removed it from the oven, it was lofty and while it was cooling, it sank. Not a pretty sight but it didn't affect the taste. I would make this again and maybe bake it in a tube pan or a bundt pan with hopefully better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Third time making it! 1st time it didnt rise as well which may have been an older box of mix! I followed the recipe including the 9x13 pan and spraying it. It came out great and although i tried just sprinkling with confectioners sugar the first time it is best with Cool Whip! This time I added a 1/2 cup of shredded coconut and will sprinkle more on the cream. Wonderful recipe for pot lucks! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Super easy recipe!! At first, I wasn't sure if I was to add the pineapple (w/ juice) to the cake batter AND THEN, add the 1 1/4 cup of water that the box had recommended. Directions didn't exactly say whether to continue to follow the box for the rest of the recipe. Anyways, no water is needed. Just the pineapple with the juice, which comes to an equivalent of about 1 1/4 cup anyway. Just add the BETTY CROCKER Angel Food Cake box mix with the pineapple, pineapple juice, 1 tsp of vanilla extract (I did, but never tried w/out it yet so I don't know the difference.) Crushed pineapple may be better, but I only had chunks, so I chose to chops the chunks in 1/4ths, so that they could be evenly distributed throughout the batter. Mix batter at low speed for 30 sec & medium speed for 1 minute (as recommended on the cake box). GREASE non-stick pan (even the disposable one) with non-stick cooking spray before adding batter. I didn't quite understand what the cooling part instructions were, regarding the glass or cans people recommended, so after 40 minutes of baking, I easily took a separate cookie pan (ALSO greased) and flipped the cake onto it to cool off. The bottom of the cake was still moist, so I immediately put back into oven for another 5 minutes at same temp (350 degrees) to let bottom of cake bake more. Once times was up, I pulled it out & placed the original 9 x 13 pan onto the cookie pan and carefully flipped it back over. Tada ! Both sides well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I was concerned that this recipe wouldn't turn out after reading the contradictory reviews. However, it was very easy and refreshing! I GREASED a 9x13 glass dish. Mixed for 1-2 minutes like the box said with an electric mixer. Also used just a one bag mix. Baked for longer than instructed at 40 MINUTES (although my oven does tend to undercook). I cooled this on the counter WITHOUT turning upside down. Worked great, without sticking to the dish. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Super easy and very yummy! I had to bake mine longer than 25 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Such an easy recipe that is a huge crowd pleaser! Smell fabulous while baking and tastes incredible! Like a quick Hawaiian vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I love this recipe - so very easy and so very delicious. I used a whipped frosting and then put coconut on (I called it my Pina Colada cupcakes) - they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carin Sweerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this as directed (baked a little longer) but otherwise as directed. It turned out perfect in the pan. I topped it with fresh berries and light cool whip. My issue is that it is just not that great. Something is missing it just didn't taste like much of anything and not sweet enough to satisfying that sweet tooth. I know it is supposed to be a low calorie dessert and that is what I wanted but I think I would rather have one small piece of something really good and flavorful than a piece of something that just doesn't satisfy. I tossed the last two pieces, low cal or not, I didn't want it, hubby didn't want it and I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
First time I had this was at my sister's home. She opted for slightly sweetened, chopped fresh strawberries and the whipped topping. Omigosh! Like strawberry shortcake with a twist. I love this recipe. Not too bad for my diet. Delicious and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda W
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
A friend brought this cake to work for a party. It was so delicious I had to make it for my diabetic, he loved it. On top of that it's incredibly easy to make. Give it a try, I think many of you will like it. You can also substitute blueberry, cherry, or lemon pie filling in place of the pineapple for a different take on it, I've read. JJTBQ - Warren, Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States