Pineapple Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I used a 9 x 13 pan and it overflowed. Was golden brown but still fell. A little to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
So delicious and easy to prepare! I just finished baking this cake, using an electric hand mixer. I sprayed the pan with Pam and baked it for 40 mins. in a 350 F oven. No need to invert the pan to cool! It is wonderful by itself or served with fresh strawberries and "lite" whipped cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe states, added about 10 minutes of cooking time, and it came out PERFECT! So excited to serve it! Thanks for such a clever idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Just made this cake and it turned out well. I did put brown sugar on the bottom of the pan which added a bit of sweetness. Next time though I will put melted butter in the pan, covered with brown sugar then the batter. Will make it more like a pineapple upside down cake. It cooked perfectly in the amount of time specified. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
So I made this and saw that someone else had used an angel food pan so I thought I would try that way. It didn't work for me as the batter rose and spilled out all over my oven, burning. I am sure if I had used the 9x13, it wouldn't have been a problem. I also used real whipped cream and it is so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Just made this. So easy and delicious. It definitely needs more than 25 minutes baking. Next time, I will turn the oven off and leave in about 5+ more minutes. Absolutely cool it upside down. Came out beautifully. Need something for next month meeting. Think I will mix a small can of pineapple with the cool whip, cut up the cake and gently fold with the cool whip mixture in a trifle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Well I think I made the mistake of getting the "two bag" cake mix... mine ended up very flat. But I have to say it tasted good! LOL! I can't wait to try it with the one bag cake mix - I think that will make a world of a difference. My husband enjoyed it - even though it was flat and kinda rubbery. I topped it with sliced sweetened strawberries and whipped cream. Will try again with the other cake mix, and edit my rating then :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I saw a cake posted on FB stating the 2 ingredients were pineapple & angel food cake mix. While shopping I found that there was no more pineapple left as it had been on sale @ $1/can so I got sliced. When I got to the cake mix I grabbed the lowest priced one. Today I did a search for the recipe & was immediately confronted with the 2 pouch mix issue. No bother: it took some time but I paged through the reviews and found one where another member had confronted the issue w/success and followed her tips. Take A, add the juice from the can, buzz the pineapple in the blender, wait for stiff peaks, add buzzed pineapple & B mix well, pour into bundt pain & bake at 375 for 40 minutes. Invert the bundt pan over a long necked bottle & hand until well cooled. Success! Finding the bottle to hang the pan from along with your reviewers positive comments about 2 pouches took me the longest! It was a Margarita mix bottle and I think I'll have one later! Also have some heavy cream on hand and plan on whipping that well and serving it with that. Advise: if you don't know how to cut an angel food cake, learn. Otherwise it will get smashed down & rubbery. My late mother taught me to use 2 forks & gently tease apart but the fancy smancy baking shops have a special tool to cut just Angel Food cakes. I've never used a bread knife but I bet that would work if you gentle sawed & tore without pressing down. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth Bolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this, and I am sorry but this was not as good as it has been rated. Yes it is super easy, but that is about it. It was rubbery and chewy....not something me or my family found tasty at all. I am all for trying new things, and maybe for some this was great, but I will definetly not be making this "easy cake" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was really good. Really good. But the instructions were all off, thankfully I am pretty good with angelfood, and I read a couple of the tips. Correction #1. You don't grease angelfood. Ever. It reacts to the egg whites and your cake won't rise. Correction #2. You do not just "cool" angelfood. You flip the pan over and rest the tube part on a glass and cool upside down. This keeps it from falling, and makes removal easier. Resist the urge to run a knife around it until it's time to take it out, it will fall out if you do it before. Comes out like a breeze every time. Change #1. I added half a bag of coconut to the mix too. It makes the cake denser, but adds such a nice flavour. Change #2. I used real whipped cream, I'll take a few calories from real food anyday. Change #3. I toasted the remaining coconut for garnish. Adds a nice flavor. Change #4. I cooked it for 50 minutes in my oven-which was what the box suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States