Pineapple Angel Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Super fast, easy, and delicious! I baked mine in a bundt pan, sprayed with PAM, in a 350 degree convection oven. After 20 min's it was still wobbly on top so I baked it for another 10 mins and it was perfectly browned and firm to the touch. I also added, as some suggested, coconut and toasted pecans, about a 1/4 cup of each. The next time I make it, I will chop up some maraschino cherries and throw them it the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
My new favorite dessert - I was looking for a quick treat and had a Duncan Hines Angel Food cake and pineapple tidbits (not crushed) in my pantry. I greased my 9 x 13 pan, sprinkled the cake mix into the pan. I drained off the juice, mixed it in to the cake mix and then sprinkled the tidbits over the batter and baked for 30 minutes. I cooled the pan upside down and mixed up some Dream Whip topping (not entirely necessary). It was a luscious treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made the cake just like the recipe calls for and it was very yummy....we topped it with a little light Cool Whip and just a sprinkling of toasted coconut. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I just made this and it tastes decent but looks rather weird. I was intrigued because it's very low cal, low fat and a perfect sweet treat for watching nutrition/diet. I used a nonstick pan, but still lightly greased it to make sure it wouldn't stick ... good plan. It was very golden brown after 25mins, and I let it go for another 5 just to be sure ... another good plan. I immediately cooled upside down on a wire rack and the cake popped out with no problem. It is not a pretty sight, but it tastes pretty good. The side of the cake that cooked on the bottom of the pan is pretty white and looks shiny. The bottom is golden brown and the edges are curled up. I think I'll tear this into pieces and served topped with some sliced strawverries and blackberries. If taking this somewhere and you care what it looks like, definitely plan on topping it with something to disguise the weirdness. Overall: I'd make it again because it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Easy and delicious! I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and didn't serve it with whipped topping -- doesn't need it! However, I think I will try mixing a small can of drained crushed pineapple with the whipped topping and using it to ice the cake which others have posted. Might add some chopped pecans. This is a definite "go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Very very easy! Good but a little dry definitely needs the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have made this before loved it but then when i looked for the recipe again I saw that no one could make it work with the 2 bag angel food cake mix. I was pretty bummed when I realized that was all I had in the pantry. However, I just mixed the egg white part and the pineapple and juice together until it formed stiff peaks (10-15 minutes) and then added the cake mix part a little at a time and mixed that for about 5 or minutes until it fluffed up again, baked it as directed and it came out beautifully! So it IS possible to do this with the 2 bag angel food cake mix,it just takes forever to mix it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is just about the easiest thing anyone can do. Just rip open a box mix of angel food cake and toss in a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and mix together by hand. It becomes nice and fluffy and then put it in a 9 x 13 pan, lightly greased and baked it for 30 minutes at 350. After it cooled I put a cream cheese frosting on it and it is good but VERY sweet. I happened to have it on hand. Next time I'll use the cool whip. I see in some of the reviews some people have mixed the cool whip with a small pineapple and I don't think that is necessary. Then others topped it with fresh strawberries. I really don't think it needs anything else but I might try the strawberries when their in season. Five stars because it was SO quick and easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Grover Parry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Thought I would try this after eyeing for awhile from WW. It's pretty good for someone who doesn't like pineapples that much. I'm glad I used 8oz of crushed pineapples because it had enough pineapple taste to it. I added at least 1/2 or (more ?) cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was sooo easy!!! Made for our Bible Study group, served w/sliced berries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States