Pineapple and Apricot Skillet Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I rated this 3 stars, though my spouse said 4. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum though could not taste any of the rum flavor in the dish. I wouldn't use the word "bland", but agree that the dish needs a little something else. I think my orange zest came through more bitter than typical, which may be why I didn't like it as much. If we make this again, I will certainly use a very fresh orange (or orange juice?) and check these reviews again to see how others have altered the recipe. Oh, and the bell pepper I had was on the larger side, so I felt that one was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This just didn't have the right consistancy for me, even thought the fire was cool, I took 2 bites and didn't eat the rest. It needs to be sweeter next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcheartselton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We thought this was good, but it could use a little something else. It could use something crunchy to add a little texture. It was good enough to inspire us to try it again, with a few changes. It reminded us of the food we had in Costa Rica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this- I used chicken tenders because they were on sale, and I think it helped with cooking time anyway. Also, my grocery store did not have any fresh apricots, so I took some dried and plumped them up in about 1/2 c of chicken broth and used that in the recipe. It was great over rice- my husband was skeptical of the consistency but he gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Overall, I didn't like this recipe. I thought the sauce was the consistency of baby food which turned me off from the beginning. Texture aside, the flavor was OK, maybe a little too sweet for dinner. I'd leave out the sugar; there's plenty of sweetness in the fruit. I also added some garlic powder. I did cut up the chicken first, then removed it from the pan while I added everything else and brought it up to a simmer, then added it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lylastarr2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
i used boneless skinless chicken thighs! this will be made a lot in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galway, New York, USA
Living In: Bokeelia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I served this over plain white rice. My 2 year old son loved it. On the menu again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. Light and refreshing. But it was pretty bland. Needs some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Great way to use up ripe apricots! I didn’t have chicken breasts so I used thighs. The cooking time was significantly increased. If you are going to use thighs or legs I would recommend grilling the chicken first. Also I didn’t use rum but the sauce tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was excellent. My husband and I was a little nervous when we started and lit the rum but it was exciting and the chicken was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States