Pina Colada Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Made these for the team I coach. They all give this 5 stars and fought over who got the last one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Just made these this morning,& they were wonderful.Read all the reviewsbefore trying them,& added 1/4teas.each of pineapple & coconut extract as well as the teas. of rum flavoring,made 6 large muffins they rose beautifully,took 24 minutes to bake.Husband says it's a Keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very Tasty muffins! I actually had a fresh "candy" pineapple that I chopped up to use in this recipe. I used butter (softened at room temperature) instead of margarine. I filled up 16 muffin tins about 2/3 of the way. I also sprinkled a little more coconut flakes on top of the muffins right before baking. They baked up beautifully in 22 minutes. The top rounded out nicely like a muffin should with nice golden brown coloring. The coconut and pineapples smelled wonderful while baking! The coconut flakes on top of the muffins toasted up nicely revealing brown toasty edges. The muffins are tasty with the blend of pineapples and coconuts. I like the bits of pineapples and coconut flakes in each bite. However, I might add a little bit more pineapples next time because I like the sweet pineapples in every bite. Both the sour cream and coconut flakes adds a nice moistness to the muffins. I couldn't really detect the rum. However, If you want the rum flavor to really stand out you could increase the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used melted butter instead of margerine and plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. I did end up adding a little more coconut just because it didn't seem like very much when I added the half cup in. These turned out REALLY moist and the flavor was pretty good (we really liked the combination of the pineapple and coconut in a muffin), though I think I'd want to cut back on the sour cream next time and add something else. Pina Colada Mix, maybe? I think it's almost where it should be. I think it could use a little more rum flavoring, too. I'd like to try these as mini-muffins next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I really liked these. Only change was to add some coconut on top before baking. The rum flavor was almost undetectable after baking and the muffins don't rise very much. But the pineapple and coconut flavors came through nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I wish I could be anonymous when I give a bad review. I just don't understand all of the good reviews for this. I'm a pretty good baker, and I have never contemplated throwing baked goods in the trash until now. These were *very* heavy and had a decidedly acidic taste- I presume because of the sour cream/pineapple combo. I thought that perhaps they just needed to sit to blend the flavours, but they are still awful. My daughter tried one today and said to me, "I don't want to hurt your feelings, but these are disgusting". *disclaimer: I did change the recipe slightly. I don't know how this affected the final result, but considering you can generally do these things in other recipes without major changes to the final result,I'm guessing that this is how they would have turned out had I followed the recipe exactly. -I substituted coconut extract for the rum based on other review, and the fact that the pineapple/coconut ratio seemed off to me. I still couldn't taste the coconut. -I used 1/8 c. apple sauce and 1/8 c. of oil. - I used 1/4 c. vanilla yogurt because I only had 3/4 c. sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
What a great muffin, very moist and the flavors work well with each other. I added a 10 oz jar of maraschino cherries that I drained and chopped. and my can of pineapple was 20 oz. everyone LOVED them. they didn't last long here. will be making these often! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
My daughter and I loved these! I did add a 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract to them since it's one of my favorite flavors. Next time I'll probably add a touch more of the rum extract too. Very moist and travels well. Definately a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed recipes as is, and it turned out kinda dry and not super flavorful. I think next time I would add more rum extract, use whole pineapple instead of crushed and more coconut. I tried this as muffins and as bread. Does not work at all as bread - too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These were more like cupcakes than muffins. I replaced the rum with vanilla and they tasted very good. Next time I will add some nuts to give it a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States