Pimento Cheese Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I'd recommend decreasing the amount of nuts in it. After a few days, the pecans gave it a bitter taste and was too overpowering. I did not add any pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
yummy! just don't store toooo long! anything changes taste in 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was not our favorite. We love pimiento cheese, and my husband loves pecans, but this recipe just didn't work for us. A waste of good pecans. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is our absolute fav pimento cheese. We have been making it this way for a few years. Some tips. Shred your own cheese. Its SO MUCH BETTER. Its a lot of work to shred a pound of cheese, but the package stuff just does not compare. If you are going to serve it as a spread for crackers (as opposed to a sandwhich spread, which to me is odd, but lots of people like it that way), don't add all the juice from the pimentos. It will be too runny. Drain and save the juice and add as much as you want to make it a nice considtancy to serve as a cracker spread. To me, a little bit of pepper and salt goes a long way...but thats a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
The secret is cream cheese. Use Miracle Whip in place of mayo. Blend cream cheese, pimentos,pecans first. Add cheddar, then miracle whip as needed. Use miracle whip to freshen up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
If you're looking for the pimento cheese eaten in the Southern US, this is NOT it! To make the "classic" spread, omit the nuts, add just a dash of hot sauce (for flavor, not heat), and 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder. It will keep for weeks in the fridge and makes a great sandwich. Also good melted over tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a simple basic Pimento Cheese recipe; just what I was looking for. I think that it is delicious. I used salad dressing instead of mayo because I like the tart taste of salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very good, I added a little tabasco and chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a very basic pimento cheese. I did like the crunch you get from the pecans, however, I did think it was bland for my taste. I added some cayenne pepper to taste and it greatly improved the flavor. It was more for flavor than the spicy heat. Definitely grate your own cheese. Pre-grated cheese may be a nice shortcut, but, it won't blend or taste as good if you use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
this was very good & super easy. I left out the nuts because of an allergy. I added a dash of garlic powder, and a dash of red pepper...I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States