Pillow-Soft Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Not bad rolls! I didn't do the refrigeration overnight bc, well, I wanted to make them then and there. So I just had them rise in a warmed oven, then baked. My oven, however, had other ideas. Apparently it decided yesterday that 375=over 500 degrees, so I had to take them out before the timer rang so they wouldn't be burned to crisps. Despite that, and the fact that the bottoms of some of them burned so I had to slice them off this morning, these are pretty good rolls. I made 9 instead of 24 so I'd get larger, sandwich rolls, and I truly have no idea what this recipe is talking about with the folding and pressing--I can't quite figure out how I'd do that. I'm sure someone more imaginative than me can figure it out, but I just cut the dough adn rolled into regular rolls instead of cutting and folding and pressing. It worked just fine. Also, I used a sour cream based French Onion Dip I was wanting to use up as the sour cream. Worked perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made the dough for these rolls last night, then made the rolls early this morning. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this recipe. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water, then added the sour cream, the eggs, then the salt (I did NOT add the full amount of salt--I halved it) and flour. This dough needed a little more flour to get it into a solid ball so I could knead it with the dough hook, just over a half cup. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set it in a greased dish, then covered it and set it in the fridge. When I woke up this morning, I let it set out for a bit before setting the dough on a warm heating pad to double. I then formed it into 1/4 cup balls (instead of cutting it like biscuits) and set the individual balls in greased muffin cups. I let them rise in the muffin tin, covered with saran wrap, on the warm heating pad for another half hour. I baked them at 400* for exactly 12 minutes. I did need more butter than a tablespoon to brush over the hot rolls. I got 12 biggish rolls out of this recipe. The texture of these rolls was really excellent--like what you'd buy at a fancy schmancy bakery. Beautiful looking roll and the sour cream flavor really comes through. I think this would be a good base for cinnamon swirl bread or a herbed roll, perhaps chive and oregano or basil? Either way, EXCELLENT roll recipe. I did adjust the assembly a bit but that didn't sacrifice anything in the outcome of this roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
They seemed pretty basic. I liked them, although I wasn't amazed by them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very good rolls! A little sticky to deal with, but the finished product is well worth any hassle. I'm sure these would be a great base to make cinnamon rolls as well. I did not leave in the fridge overnight. I let them rise on the countertop a couple hours until doubled (like you would any other yeast roll recipe). Also they taste great brushed with melted butter when they come out of oven. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
While making these, I was afraid they would turn out to be a disaster. I could not reach a dough consistency with the flour allotted. I just kept adding until I was happy. I was doing this in my mix master and not by hand. In the morning, it had not completely doubled in size. I thought I had a bad batch of yeast but went ahead with cutting because I had already invested so much time. They ended up pretty good. Very light and fluffy. I would prefer them to be a little sweeter and will adjust for that next time. This is definitely a recipe worth trying. The lightness I have never found in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved them so much that I'm making them again for Christmas. There were only 5 of us for Thanksgiving, but these were so popular that by the end of the meal the whole batch of rolls were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Wow...grandmas' for sure know best. These are awesome. My 1 1/2 year old ran around the house singing nummy nummy nummy. I made these for a family gathering tomorrow and I have a feeling I'm going to have to make some more on the spot. Thank You for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I am pretty impressed with these rolls. After reading the instructions, I was a bit hesitant (Because of the refrigeration time), but these where really good. I carefully followed instructions. And making sure the Sour cream and water were at perfect temp. This is not a recipe for someone who wants to make a "quick" roll, but for someone who doesn't mind taking their time. I will be putting this in my recipe box! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States