Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I halved this recipe and after mixing together the wet ingredients, decided it was plenty and could do without the egg, so i left that out, but OMW, the dough was soft n lovely, then i rolled the balls and left to rise again and it worked beautifully. If you are short on time, skipping the extra risings still gives you lovely rolls! Amazing warm with butter, pop in the micro the next day for 10secs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a very good recipe for dinner rolls. I substituted melted butter in place of the shortening and it turned out great. I can understand why other reviewers commented that it was a little bland, but I think it makes the recipe versitile (good base recipe). I think I might use this recipe to make monkey bread at Christmas time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The best rolls ever! These get requested for every family event now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
these are great i have never made rolls from scratch so im really happy the recipe was easy and they came out right. the times are a little misleading you need to read the recipe to plan accordingly, other than that 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made these today for our Thanksgiving dinner. I made them as listed on here, except I used Wheylow instead of regular sugar. I did find the dough was a bit liquidy and I had to add more flour during kneading. I was afraid it would make them tough. I was wrong. They were excellent. I made a little honey butter to serve with them. I don't make a lot of recipes with white flour, I wonder if anyone has tried these perhaps with 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white? Awesome recipe, thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are probably the best rolls I've ever baked. And while mine came out denser than I thought they would be its nothing to kick. Based on the other reviews I'm sure its something I did that made them much denser than the fluffy one's I were expecting. Edit: I did a double batch for thanksgiving and they came out perfect!!!! Soft and puffy awesomeness!!! Everyone ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These are great for dinner rolls and for family gatherings! We have made these twice in one week and plan to bring them along for the holidays!! We mixed it in the bread mixer, then pulled it apart into roll sized sections and let them rise & then bake in the oven as directed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
recipe is very accurate came out perfect i surprise myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made these for a family dinner and they were a big hit! I thought the size was a little big but will just make more next time. New note - My husband likes the big size so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Home Town: Keeseville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
my 13 yr. old daughter made these. Her comment is under mine.They were a bit to dry.overall they were good.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States