Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Superb ! Wish I could give more than a 5 rating. Needed about 1 hand of flour when forming them into a ball for 2nd. rising. I never tasted a better roll. ! ! ! Nothing like these 'old time' recipies. Strong suggestion, you double the water input. I use butter flavored Crisco as shorting, and so much nicer and lighter. Much nicer roll. Made several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made these on a whim and brought them to my mom's for Thanksgiving. This makes a LOT of rolls, and they were all gone before the end of dinner. They taste very homemade, yeasty and rich. I thought that they were an easily made recipe. I thought (myself) that they didn't brown up in the time given in the recipe, but that might be just my oven. I would definitely recommend these to someone looking for a really good comfort food hot roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Excellent recipe! The rolls turned out delicious and "pillow-soft"! The recipe was very easy to follow. I only made a few changes. I used 3/4 cup water and butter flavored Crisco (from a previous review). I added an egg wash (egg whites and a dash of milk) to the top of the dinner rolls before I cooked them and, to add a bit of sweet flavor, I brushed them with a melted butter and a dash of sugar mixture. I put rolls into a muffin pan and cut an “X” on top of each of them before I cooked them. I cooked them for 20 minutes brushed them with my butter sugar mixture then cooked them for 5 more minutes. PERFECT!! I will definitely cook these rolls again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
After cooking, these freeze and defrost nicely when you just need a few at a time. I used real butter rather than the shortening and also doubled the water following another reviewer's strong suggestion. My husband,usually not enticed by bread, gives this two thumbs up! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is such an easy recipe. I followed it exactly and it turned out perfect! They taste the best right out of the oven! You can also make the balls of dough and wrap them in cling wrap then freeze them to make at a later time. When you take them out of the freezer, thaw on the baking pan, until the dough rises double, then bake, yummm yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These were what they stated pillow-soft but they were also lacking a little in flavor for us. I don't know if it's because we normally eat wheat or an actual fault in the recipe. Still good and sill make again maybe subbing some of the all purp flour for wheat. Also, the less flour you add the better my dough was a very soft dough (think still mostly sticking to the bowl) and the texture of these rolls was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
While my rolls raised well each time and the dough was tasty, the final product was not what I thought it would be. I seldom use shortening, but I wanted to make as written ... they were drier than I would have expected. A friend made them after I did and she used oil ... hers are not dry. To do a floured surface, I used a floured cookie sheet ... really contained the mess! :-) I might try these again after I experiment with other rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These were simple to make and absolutely FANTASTIC! I brushed them with melted butter right after baking and my family wouldn't wait until dinner to eat them! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I loved the texture and the "softness" of this roll. After taking these out of the oven and tasting I thought they were a little tastless. I melted some butter and added some garlic salt and spread on top of each roll. I returned them to the oven for 3 minutes and they were so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made these rolls to pair with my homemade Cauliflower Zuppa Toscana. I cut this recipe in half. I only made one change and that was using melted butter instead of shortening. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this recipe. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar, warm water and warm milk for ten minutes, then added the butter and egg, then the salt and flour. This dough needed almost a full cup to get it into a solid ball so I could knead it with the dough hook. Even then, it was a "wet" dough. I kneaded it with the hook for five minutes, then set the dough ball to rise in a greased, covered bowl on a warm heating pad for an hour. I then formed it into 1/4 cup balls and set the individual balls in greased muffin cups. I got 11 sized balls out of this recipe, not 12. I let them rise in the muffin tin, covered with saran wrap, on the warm heating pad for another half hour. I baked them at 400* for exactly 12 minutes. The texture of these rolls was really good but I think it could use a little more sugar. It's really a nice basic roll recipe, like something you'd eat at a church dinner or at Grandma's house. I'll make this again but I'll double the sugar. NOTE: I did not measure my yeast. I used one envelope of yeast for a half recipe. For the whole batch, you'll want two envelopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States