Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
OMG, these are the best rolls I have ever tasted. They make your taste buds jump. A suggestion is if you are into sweet things lay out the a little bread dough and add melted butter and tons of cinnamon sugar and brown sugar to the middle of the dough. Roll it like a wrap and bake it like you would bake the rolls it tastes GREAT!!!!!This Recipe Rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These were simple to make and absolutely FANTASTIC! I brushed them with melted butter right after baking and my family wouldn't wait until dinner to eat them! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made these on a whim and brought them to my mom's for Thanksgiving. This makes a LOT of rolls, and they were all gone before the end of dinner. They taste very homemade, yeasty and rich. I thought that they were an easily made recipe. I thought (myself) that they didn't brown up in the time given in the recipe, but that might be just my oven. I would definitely recommend these to someone looking for a really good comfort food hot roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I've made these rolls twice now, the first time I changed the servings to 15 instead of 24, and both times they tasted wonderful! They were a little more dense than I wanted, maybe I did something wrong, but they do taste great and it's an easy recipe. I also brushed them with butter when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Superb ! Wish I could give more than a 5 rating. Needed about 1 hand of flour when forming them into a ball for 2nd. rising. I never tasted a better roll. ! ! ! Nothing like these 'old time' recipies. Strong suggestion, you double the water input. I use butter flavored Crisco as shorting, and so much nicer and lighter. Much nicer roll. Made several times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent texture, lacking in taste. Just needs some butter flavored shortening and more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe's a winner! As others suggested, I brushed melted butter over the rolls when they came out of the oven. I made the 24 rolls required by the recipe, but they were pretty big. Next time I might make 30 smaller rolls. I'll definitely make these again. They're simple, light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These didn't have any flavor at all. Maybe I did something wrong but they weren't all that soft and aside from that no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
great texture and softness, but lacks flavor. These were very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made these for Christmas. The recipe was easy, they looked great and were pillow soft, however I did not care for the taste. I was hoping for a roll where you could smell the yeast while baking and taste while eating and I didn't get that with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States