Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Love these rolls! Very easy, soft and great! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
These are the easiest, tastiest, dinner rolls I've ever made. I usually cut the recipe in half, make them into smaller rolls and freeze them for future use, they freeze very well. No tweaking necessary, they are delicious just the way this recipe is. My husband loves them, and so does everyone that ever has them. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Incredible texture! Minus a star for the taste, which as other reviewers noted is a bit pretzel-y. But!!! I've made this recipe several times and have a few minor revisions to improve the taste: an extra 1/4 c of milk (this means only 1/4 c water), reduced salt to a rounded 1/2 tsp, and added an optional rounded 1/4 tsp powdered sage, just for fun. Makes a soft, springy, marshmellowy dough, absolutely amazing to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
While I loved the texture and softness of the rolls, they were lacking in flavor. I plan on trying the recipe with butter flavored crisco or possibly with butter to add a little something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
delicious and so easy!! It's really so much cheaper than store bought and taste better too! I froze what didn't get eaten at Christmas dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I've been making bread for 30 years and have made a *LOT* of rolls. This recipe is one of the very best I have ever used and makes the type of rolls our friends love the most. I don't have a mixer; I just make them by hand. The key is to resist the temptation to knead in too much flour. As the recipe says, the dough is sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Wow these were really amazing! I even kind of messed it up a little (by not letting them rise fully) and they still turned out absolutely perfect. What a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chacie007

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Bread is usually a disaster for me, but these rolls turned out perfectly. The only recipe deviation I made was using butter-flavored Crisco. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I made these for Thanksgiving and the smell and taste of these rolls had my dad and uncle close to tears from memories of their mom and grandma - both awesome bakers. My dad said these rolls were better than my great-grandma's. That was one of the best compliments I've ever received. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are wonderful! I followed the ideas other people suggested, added about 50% more sugar, a little more salt, split shortening and butter, and instead of plain water, added buttermilk powdered mix to it. I made half a batch and used one envelope of rapid rise yeast. (15 minute rest followed by shaping and a full rise) Added just enough flour to knead well, but still somewhat sticky. Brushed on melted butter after baking. I'm eating one right now. This is the third half-batch I have made. (upon request!) They are definitely soft, yet dense in texture, heavy in the hand, with a superb aroma. Reminds me of an egg bread or a potato bread with a slight wispy scent of pretzel somewhere in the background. Hard to describe here. A thin crispness on top when baked fresh that develops into a nicely even perfect texture from top to bottom the next day. (Definitely better the next day!) You barely have to chew them. We may have slightly underbaked them, which actually makes them even better, we think. All they need is a few seconds in the microzapper and a bit of butter for full enjoyment. Considering how big of a hit they are so far in this house, I am sure we will be making them far into the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
really easy, and really good. We made them into crescent roles with a little wipe of butter inside... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States