Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Nice soft rolls. I did add some garlic and rosemary, increased sugar to 1/2 cup and salt to 2 tsp. The dough was very soft and sticky, so I set the dough balls in 2 greased 9 x 13 pans, so they'd raise higher rather than flatten out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delicious, light and airy. Everyone devoured them at Thanksgiving. I rolled them out, spread with butter, cut and made crescent roll shaped rolls out of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These are excellent! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made some changes so it would be a healthier roll. I cut the recipe in half to make 12 rolls. I used less water than the recipe called for and I use 1 tablespoon of each in place of all the shortening, I used butter, oil, and shortening. And instead of all purpose flour I used organic brown rice flour. either the yest wasnt working well or it was the flour because I dont think the dough rose well but they came out great anyway. I also did an egg wash and a butter sauce from a previous review. I like to eat them warm with butter. For not using regular flour I thought the rolls came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seb2penny
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These rolls are great, and very easy to make... with the smoothest dough ever! Very yummy with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I'm rating this 4 stars because I did alter the recipe a bit, according to comments from other reviewers about the lack of taste. I slightly increased the salt and sugar according to taste and then in place of the egg I substituted 1 Tbsp. flax seed + 3 Tbsp water. The flax seed offered a wonderful rich earthy flavor. I also used butter flavored shortening in the recipe. These were quick, easy, and (as promised) pillow soft! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was amazing! Made it several times, and even modified it to a bagguette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These were awesome! Thank you. I made my 1st attempt last night. I followed some user reviews and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and DOUBLED the sugar. My entire picky family agreed to keep this recipe! Today I will experiment with the leftovers that seem a bit hard this morning, so around dinner time I'll see how they re-heat. I also have unused dough I'll try and make a batch tomorrow and see how the refrigerated dough holds up. **** Okay, the rolls reheated nicely. I had the unused dough wrapped in plastic wrap for 4 days before I was able to make a 2nd batch. I found that they rose quite nicely on the counter as well as in the oven. The final product after 4 days was about 80% as fluffy as using the fresh dough. Still, very soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
wonderful recipe...very easy to work with...rises like nobody's business...a half batch in a 9 by 13 pan yields a pan full of sandwich rolls or hamburger buns let alone dinner rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States