Pillow-Soft Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Nice soft rolls. I did add some garlic and rosemary, increased sugar to 1/2 cup and salt to 2 tsp. The dough was very soft and sticky, so I set the dough balls in 2 greased 9 x 13 pans, so they'd raise higher rather than flatten out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Delicious, light and airy. Everyone devoured them at Thanksgiving. I rolled them out, spread with butter, cut and made crescent roll shaped rolls out of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These are excellent! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made some changes so it would be a healthier roll. I cut the recipe in half to make 12 rolls. I used less water than the recipe called for and I use 1 tablespoon of each in place of all the shortening, I used butter, oil, and shortening. And instead of all purpose flour I used organic brown rice flour. either the yest wasnt working well or it was the flour because I dont think the dough rose well but they came out great anyway. I also did an egg wash and a butter sauce from a previous review. I like to eat them warm with butter. For not using regular flour I thought the rolls came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seb2penny
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These rolls are great, and very easy to make... with the smoothest dough ever! Very yummy with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I'm rating this 4 stars because I did alter the recipe a bit, according to comments from other reviewers about the lack of taste. I slightly increased the salt and sugar according to taste and then in place of the egg I substituted 1 Tbsp. flax seed + 3 Tbsp water. The flax seed offered a wonderful rich earthy flavor. I also used butter flavored shortening in the recipe. These were quick, easy, and (as promised) pillow soft! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was amazing! Made it several times, and even modified it to a bagguette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These were awesome! Thank you. I made my 1st attempt last night. I followed some user reviews and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and DOUBLED the sugar. My entire picky family agreed to keep this recipe! Today I will experiment with the leftovers that seem a bit hard this morning, so around dinner time I'll see how they re-heat. I also have unused dough I'll try and make a batch tomorrow and see how the refrigerated dough holds up. **** Okay, the rolls reheated nicely. I had the unused dough wrapped in plastic wrap for 4 days before I was able to make a 2nd batch. I found that they rose quite nicely on the counter as well as in the oven. The final product after 4 days was about 80% as fluffy as using the fresh dough. Still, very soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
wonderful recipe...very easy to work with...rises like nobody's business...a half batch in a 9 by 13 pan yields a pan full of sandwich rolls or hamburger buns let alone dinner rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States