Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is super easy! We tested it out last night, and it was wonderful. However, no topping. I made the topping for Thanksgiving, it was good, then I added cinnimon! This made the topping to die for! I did use a premade crust because I have never had any luck with homemade crusts. The only reason a 4 and not a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I know this recipe! I've used it for years! I have made a few adjustments to improve to my liking. First off, I use about 2x the amount of spice that the recipe calls for(I like my pumpkin pie spicy and full of flavor). I also add about a tsp or so of nutmeg. I add an extra 3/4 cup of the pumpkin puree. I find that it makes the filling a little thicker and meatier in texture, but doesn't compromise the smoothness. With my adjustments, I think it turns out great. At Thanksgiving, I always make an extra pie for my brother to take home because one slice just isn't enough for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I only used this recipe for the filling. I had a pre-made pie crust that I needed to use and I didn't have the necessary ingredients for the whipped cream. I ran out of honey, so I used half honey and half sugar and it was just right. I also cut the ginger in half and added about a half teaspoon nutmeg. Both my husband and I loved it and since I have enough puree for two more pies, I'm sure I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Very nice pie! A hit among friends! Just added a pinch of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet Ana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
amazing pumpkin pie recipe :) i got rave reviews when i took this to our thanksgiving for 50 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This pie is INCREDIBLE. I baked it with the Best Pie Crust recipe on this site and got more compliments than I've ever gotten on any recipe (and I cook and bake a LOT!). Next time I will go easy on the spices so that the pumpkin flavor is more present. A must on your Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I have been making this pie every Thanksgiving for the past 4 years. I follow the recipe exactly, no substituations. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This pie is the best I have ever eaten!! I love that it is a little healthier version with the honey. It looked beautiful, as well. The only thing I didn't do was the crust, I had already started my own recipe. I may try the crust next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was the best pumpkin pie I've ever had! The honey was great and the gingered whip cream made a great addition to the whole thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I have always made pumpkin pie from the canned pumpkin recipe, but wanted a better pie for Thanksgiving this year. This pie was delicious! I didn't make the cream topping but just used cool-whip, it was still great. Very creamy! This will definitely be my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie every year! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States