Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was at first concerned about the consistency of the filling. I added an extra 1/2 cup of pumpkin into the mix. It just looked too watery. However, I did use a sugar pumpkin that I baked; not a canned puree. Because of this, I did have to bake for an additional 15 minutes. I did this in 5 minute intervals, each time checking to see if the center was still giggling from a liquid state. Also, although it was great to have the whipped topping, I believe it took away from the flavor of the pie, and preferred to taste the pie itself, which was wonderful. Over all this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this pie as a "test" for Thanksgiving. Great recipe. I'm not a big fan of pumpkin pie but the rest of the family is. This pie changed my mind. That being said, it's the only one I will make from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and subbed a half-pint of heavy cream the second, and both times the flavor was good but the texture was loose, watery, and slightly grainy. I baked at a lower temperature the second time, but got the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My great grandmother, who left us at the age of 101 in 1980, use to make this pie but she didn't call it pilgrim pie. The crust is awesome. I rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper and forgot to flour it so I had to do it again and it was just as flaky as the apple pie I made with the crust. I altered the pumpkin recipe as I added 12oz of vanilla spiced old southern comfort egg nog instead of the milk and I used agave nectar in place of the honey as there are a few people who are diabetics and this has a low glyscemic index for them. I also used it in the dough. None of my family could tell that I didn't use any sugar or honey in the recipe and they loved it. It turned out to be a very creamy pie I also use the pie filling and made a custard for those who don't like crust with their pies. It also turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
very good pie! i used my own crust recipe (very similar though) Great flavor, very fresh tasting. i used half honey, half sugar. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Thanks for an awesome recipe! I love that this is sweetened naturally with honey. Having never made a pumpkin pie before, I was afraid that the batter was too liquidy, so I added an extra egg, which worked fine. I used a 9-1/2 inch pie pan and was glad I did because the filling would have been too much for a 9 inch pan. I baked it for a while longer than suggested in the recipe, but it came out perfectly in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is the same recipe I got from my mother. My daughter-in-law never liked pumpkin pie until she tried this one. One year, she was pregnant at Thanksgiving time and all she asked for was her own pumpkin pie. She ate the whole pie herself! My grandsons love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I didn't make the crust-i did store bought. I added some extra sugar as suggested by some to make it sweeter. Next time I will diefinitely not add extra sugar--it was too sweet. I thought that the texture was fabulous! yum- very smooth. will make again. honey whipped cream was also tasty. very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Tried this yesterday for today's Thanksgiving dinner. Got half way through the recipe opened the pumpkin and realized that OOpps it's not pumpkin puree it's premade pie filling. So I made the premade filling pie then and this one the next day. The premade was so bad we threw it away and this only was everyone's top choice. We didn't even cut open our apple pie. Made my own pie crust and tried the topping but my cream didn't whip very well. I'll give the cream another try cause I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
this was great, everyone loved it. however i used white sugar instead of honey and bought the pie crust(cuz i suck at pie crust making)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States