Pigs in a Blanket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful, fun recipe to make. We only made a few minor adjustments from the original recipe: We preheated the oven to 400 degrees instead of 350 degrees. We also used two packages of cocktail weiners (Li'l Smokies) and 4 tubes of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls instead of biscuit dough. We tried the biscuit dough last year but after using the crescent dough this year we found we like that a lot better. Make sure you cut the crescent rolls in half first before you wrap them around the Li'l Smokies. We omitted the cheese and baked them on a "greased" cookie sheet. These taste best fresh out of the oven as then tend to get kind of soft the next day if refrigerated in a Ziploc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
799 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I love hot dogs and this came out great BUT... I have to tell you what NOT to do when you make these. My wife doesn't care for hot dogs so I always have then when she isn't home!! I would toss them in the microwave and make quick hot dogs. Well.... When I made this recipe, I did the same thing. I followed the recipe perfectly except I put them in the MICROWAVE OVEN for fifteen minutes!!! I thought they looked a little over done when I took them out of the oven... I started to take one of them off the plate but it was stuck like glue to the plate. After prying it off the plate I noticed that the hot dog was light as a feather (there was absolutely NO moisture left in the bread or the frankfurter). It was dry as a cork. I attempted to take a bite and found that although it was light as a feather, it was also hard as a rock!! I sat looking at the hot dogs trying to figure what went wrong!! Only then did I realize that I should have put them in the regular oven. My second attemp at the recipe, I put them in the regurar oven and they came out five star great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
505 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
When out of canned biscuits you can use Bisquick mix (biscuit recipe) or throw together 1 cup flour, 1 egg, and a pinch of salt (add a little water if needed) ((This is actually the recipe for homemade egg noodles but I have used it several times when I didn't have any biscuits and they never know the difference))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've been doing this for ever as appetizers and they always disappear! but I make them a little differently. I use lil' smokies that you get in any grocery store and a couple crescent roll dough tubes from Pillsbury. When I unroll the dough I'll cut each triangle into two smaller triangles and then wrap the lil' smokies up in it, starting at the larger end. then I bake them in the oven for the recommended time on the crescent roll package. They will disappear before your eyes so make lots! and serve with BBQ sauce, ketchup and mustard to dip them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These were excellent. I used lil' smokies with strips of crescent rolls wrapped around them. We don't like processed cheese, so I omitted it. I couldn't get enough of them. They were totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
this is a good recipe. for another variation, split the hot dog lengthwise down the middle being careful not to go all the way through. fill the split with cheese and wrap the hot dog with bacon slices using toothpicks to secure. bake in oven at 375 til bacon is crispy and cheese is melted. this is how my mom and grandmother made pigs in a blanket when i was growing up. fattening, but yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Well, it's not a party without these little bite size treats! Who knew such few ingredients could produce something so good! I use Pillbury crescent rolls and cut them with a pizza cutter to make things easy. I always spray a bit of Pam so nothing sticks. I heat my oven to 375 vs. 350 for baking. I serve these with a variety of dipping sauces - bbq, honey mustard, spicy brown mustard, dijon, apricot jam mixed with a bit of bbq sauce -the possibilites are endless! One thing is for sure, these are always a hit at get togethers and you're guests will definitely thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
A tried and true classic...great for kids and adults alike. I took 4 hotdogs, cut in half and nuked for about 30 seconds just to warm...wrapped each piece in a half slice of american, and rolled into a crescent roll...baked at 350 for 13 minutes and viola, a tasty quick treat! Thanks for the recipe reminder of this classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I used the cocktail weiners and cut the crescent rolls in half to make more then baked. These were delicious. Next time I will use 4 packages of crescent rolls per 2lbs of the hot dogs. I ran out of them too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I love these. My mom used to make them all the time for us when we were younger. Now I get to do the same for my son (who LOVES hotdogs). The only thing we do differently is change up the cheeses to suit however we feel that day (or have in the fridge) and sometimes we use the crescent dough instead (just depends on what I have on hand). Thanks fore the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pigs in a Blanket

Kids love this easy snack—just roll and bake.

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States