Pignoli Nut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Really delicious! I reduced the sugars down to a little less than 1/2 cup each; added an extra Tbsp. cream, a full cup of Pignoli (toasted in the oven for about 6-8 min at 175°C (350°F)) and a few drops of almond extract; also baked in pastry dough instead of a pie shell. I served this to guests - there were only 4 of us and it was gone by the end of the evening! Thanks for this simple, divine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This recipe was quick and easy. The taste and texture is almost like a pecan pie. The only change I made was toasting the nuts before putting them in the pie to make the flavor more powerful. Wait until completely cooled before cutting - although when you smell this baking you'll have a hard time waiting! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was delicious. It didn't look like a pecan pie, like I expected. It has more of a cookie-looking crust. I toasted my pine nuts first and also added about 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Next time, I will try reducing the sugar b/c the sweetness almost overwhelmes the taste of the pignolis, and I don't want to give up the chocolate! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a wonderful pie! Easy & quick. I substituted half the sugar with Splenda, and half the butter with Conola butter. It is still sticky & tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is super simple, easy and delisioso. I did as others suggested and pre-toasted the nuts, but everything else was as presented. I've made it four times this month for different guests and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a WONDERFUL recipe! Everyone loved it. I served whipped cream on top of the warm pie slice and it was delightful to the tastebuds! No doubt I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I read all reviews and followed the updated 1/2 cup both white and brown sugar; 1 cup toasted pine nuts, doubled the heavy cream to 2 TBSP. This is easy and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Isch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I was given a huge bag of pine nuts and looked for recipes I could use them in besides salads and pesto. I was delighted when I found this recipe. It was very easy to make. Use butter and not margerine for the richer flavor. I used a full cup of pine nuts, toasted them on a cookie sheet before using them in the pie, which filled a regular 9 inch frozen pie crust. I brought two pies into work and they were gone in no time. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States