Pignoli Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am a baker and these cookies are delicious. A couple of comments. The amount of egg whites is perfect, you just have to use large eggs or smaller. You cannot use XLarge eggs or it won't be right. The sugar is too much but you can't go wrong. I recommend doubling the recipe and keeping the sugar at 1 cup for the double recipe. Finally, the tinfoil baking method is genius. Put tinfoil shiny side up, spray with Pam and you are good to go. Also, kudos to the person who recommended toasting the nuts slightly before baking; it is infinitely better. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The flavor is good but the baking is horrible. I left them baking far longer than was stated in the recipie. I put them back I don't know how many times at 2 and 3 minute pops. I didn't read the reviews as I do most of the time because I was in a hurry. Per the reviews, perhaps parchment paper would have done the trick. I buttered and floured the pan and the cookies still stuck. They didn't brown like I thought they should and they were very gooey in the middle of the cookie. It was a big if, IF I got them off the pan without breaking. I am a baker and make tons of cookies, especially at Christmas time. Very unlikely that I will make these again. The ingredients are far too expensive to land up with a pile of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSROSYROSU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I am from Brooklyn and grew up eating these. This is a great recipe and they taste very authentic. I actually cut the recipe in half and used a 7oz tube of almond paste and it worked perfectly! The only thing that you should know is that if you are making these for someone who needs them gluten free, check your almond paste first. Odense almond paste is NOT gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamakins
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great easy recipe! I did the whole thing in the food processor. I even whipped the egg whites in the smaller insert of my food processor. They only got to soft peaks but it still worked fine. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is the best and easiest Pignoli cookie I've been able to find. I've been hunting for a good gluten free (make sure you use a GF almond paste) dairy free cookie and this is it. I use parchment paper to line my cookie sheet and my stand mixer to break up the paste and blend in the sugar and have always had wonderful results. Only problem is these cookies don't last long in my house. They're gone before you know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Although the taste was good, (a little bit too sweet, but good), these cookies completely lost their form while baking. They turned into one big film of sticky cookie. I might try this again with some flour, but I will probably just find a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe!! These cookies are my hubby's favorite so I decided to make them to see what he thought of them and he gave them a 5 out of 5 stars. I wish I had sauteed the nuts before adding them to the tops (as someone suggested) because that was the only difference between the bakery and this recipe...definitely will remember to do that next time! The parchment paper is a must...no problem with removal and letting the mix chill in the fridge helps with placement. Be sure to make your balls small and completely covered with nuts because they spread out. If you want your cookies to taste like they came from the bakery than you need to use 1 cup of white sugar...it's not too sweet...but just right. It's the closest to the bakery cookie as you're going to get and that's coming from an Italian that grew up eating these cookies. Some reviewers said this was messy but I didn't think it was any messier than other cookies I've made. Put them in a tin lined with waxed paper after they cool to stay fresh...if you can keep them that long, lol. Thank you so much for sharing. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
They taste absolutley great! I tried this batch twice, once with Odense & then a double btach with Solo almond paste. Odense's batch was rounder and the Solo's were flatter. They do take about 20 munites to bake for them to be brown. Let them cool all the way before taking them off and they wont stick. I used non stick foil. They are a little messy. Who cares! Just wear an apron and get over it! They are great cookies either flat or fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biker Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Delicious flavor and soft, chewy consistency, Mmm! I only used 2/3 cups of sugar and I refrigerated the mix for about 20 minutes before I spooned them out to bake. I baked them on aluminum foil (shiny side up) and they came off much more easily than they did off of the parchment paper. I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssejaclop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I, too, have made both Pignoli recipes on this site and find this recipe to be superior. I bake these every year around Christmas time and they always get raves and requests for the recipe. I have used parchment paper and had no problems, but i usually use a silpat silicone mat and that works best. I agree that you may not need to use all of the egg white. I doubled this recipe and still only needed 2 whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States