Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I first tasted these cookies on a visit to Brooklyn with some good friends about ten years ago. I loved these cookies and tried several recipes but this one is definitely the best. I chilled the dough for about 30 minutes and added 1/4 tsp. salt. Deeeeelicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great cookie - even Nonna approved! I made them for a party and the hostess wanted the recipe. I used parchment paper instead of aluminum foil and spray. I chilled the dough for 15 - 30 minutes for firmness. Very messy to make, I thought it would be my first and last time making them but it was worth the mess. I will be making them again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These taste very good, although they do need some salt to balance out the sweetness. I would add about 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of salt to the recipe. The cookies stuck to parchment paper and I was unable to get them off without mis-shaping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I'm not sure what went wrong. Maybe I should have read the reviews first about refrigerating before rolling into balls. I found the dough too sticky to roll and had to drop it by the spoon onto the parchment paper. They came out flat as pancakes and we weren't too crazy about the taste either. We ate part of it with a fork and threw the rest in the garbage. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent cookie. I found it best to use parchment paper, instead of oiling the pan. Let the cookies cool quite a bit before removing from parchment and they should come off quite easily with minimal sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Loved this recipe- Was so easy to make and the most delicious pignoli cookies ever- I didn't really need to flour my hands, just rolled them very quickly and dropped in egg whites. I came up with about 24 cookies, not 36 because I made them just a little bit bigger than requested. This will always be the pignoli cookie recipe I use forever. Don't need to look any further. Very moist an chewy. The perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Okay. I was born and raised on Long Island (NY)... I'm an Italian New Yorker...I KNOW Italian cookies... These are fantastic! and just like I remember getting at our favorite Italian bakery...Ramona Lee! One caveat: I don't suggest using wax paper to line the cookie sheet (i was out of foil!)...the paper stuck to the bottom despite greasing it and made an awful mess! AND... I suppose it's a matter of preference, but it's really not necessary to have the nuts on the bottom of the cookie...I just rolled the balls and put them on the cookie sheet, then flattened them and put a whole bunch of nuts on top.... Magnificent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great! I made these to use up my pine nuts, actually, and I substituted the almond paste with ground walnuts/pecans. My parents loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
These were sooooo good. Just like the bakery! They were alot of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States