Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Having never tasted pignoli cookies, it's hard to say how this recipe compares. But, these have a very unique and wonderful flavor. I like how the rich buttery flavor of the pine nuts balances with the super sweet of the almond paste. I am only giving the recipe 4 stars however, because the ingredients were very expensive and after spending $10 on the pine nuts, I still didn't have enough. I actually needed probably twice as much. Also, I had to use the tube kind of almond paste, but I didn't have a problem shaping them into balls after chilling the dough for about an hour. It was still messy, but kinda fun pretending to be an old world Italian mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I only bought an 8oz can of paste and after going back to get more ended up with Solo Almond Pastry filling. My dough ended up too liquidy so I added some flour, soda, and salt. I also skipped dipping the dough balls in egg white and just rolled them in the pine nuts. The cookies are really good. However, I am reserving the five star rating for something that is stupendous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I wished I had read other reviews 1st. These were an expensive waste & nasty tasting cookie. I followed the directions to a T and it didn't help with the mess that it made. Almost like battering chicken fried steak...now THAT I know is messy but it at least turns out great. I used parchment paper and cookies had to completely cool before removing because the stuck. After making the cookies, I viewed other reviews & wished I had not used the tube almond paste but that was my only option. Before adding the confectioner's sugar and egg whites. I thought it would be a good cookie. Smelled wonderful and looked great. After adding the c.s. and egg whites it became gooey and un-ball-able. Lightly flouring your hands didn't do the trick like it mentioned, no little bit was enough you have to completely toss them in flour to help hold their shape and then dipping them, as a so called ball into egg white wash made it worse. They lost shape again and began spread instantly. 1 1/2 cups of pine nuts didn't work in my favor for I ran out before completing the last step. I was glad I bought extra because of thinking ahead. It took 2 cups of pine nuts. This recipe was expensive to make. 7oz almond paste was $6.19 a tube & had to buy 2 and had to weigh it exactly to get 12 oz. The pine nuts were $2.69 per 1/2 cup and used 4 little bags. So my total with all ingredients included was $23.95. We didn't like the taste , everyone spit them out and the dog sniffed it and didn't touch it...So Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Easy to make with a nice chewy consitency. A bit too sweet for my taste and the lack of salt with the nuts leaves this cookie tasting flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I wanted to make pignoli cookies for my very italian grandfather because they are his favorite. I used this recipe and he told me that "they were better than his grandmothers." We all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. A few things I've learned: 1) Use a food processor!!!! 2) refrigerate the dough for several minutes prior to shaping the cookies. This makes it much easier and is FAR less messy. 3) I always run out of pignoli when making these. 4) Scaling the recipe seems to be quite difficult to do successfully. 5) Using parchment paper for the cookie sheets is priceless. And do not remove the cookies from the surface too soon, or the middles will stick and tear out. This recipe never seems to turn out badly and is worth perfecting. I have made it again and again and it's always getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! I'm an Italian girl living in Long Island, NY and all the bakeries here (if you can find them) charge upwards of $16 per pound. This recipe is authentic and works. I used Solo canned almond paste and followed the recipe as written. Definately remember to flour your hands. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These are my mother's very favorite cookies. I usually only use a total of 1/2 cup of sugar (1/4 cup granulated, 1/4 cup confectioners) as the almond paste is already sweetened. I also toast the pine nuts slightly before coating the cookies for more flavor; I find that they don't really toast while the cookies are baking. These are seriously good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
For 10 yrs. I've been asking my Cicilian Mother-in-law for great grandma's receipe. She always said oh, they never come out good. Well this recipe won over everyone. Better than little italy in brooklyn. So easy to make. They all want my recipe and I say, "it'll cost u!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzzzebeeee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
So, let me start with a few musts-- You MUST use SOLO CANNED almond paste. The Odense in the tube doesn't work, it's too watery and will ruin the cookies. Line your pan with parchment paper. I never bake without it, and the cookies don't stick at all when you use it. As for the way I made the cookies, I dumped each ingredient one at a time into my stand mixer and no problem. Didn't beat the whites beforehand. Flouring your hands is important. It helps the eggwhites stick to the dough ball (which will give the cookies a nice gloss and help the pignoli stick) and I think it prevents them spreading- last year I used a different recipe that didn't call for it and the cookies were a disaster. Mine didn't spread at all, I should have pushed them down a bit. Anyway, they looked great, tasted better, and everyone loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States