Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My husband and I just made this as a Mother's Day treat for my in-laws. It was fantastic! Definitely agree with other reviewers that it helps to use parchment paper. We also added a splash or two of Disaronno Ameretto to the egg white wash for extra flavor at is was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe! Word of warning though - the ingredients are expensive and it was a lot of time and work to make these, but they are really a treat. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good cookies. So easy to make. Everyone is always asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer11203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
They were way too sweet and lacked enough almond flavoring. They also flattened out when cooking and looked like a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Ok, made them last night & they are totally delicious - but a few tips. Forget the aluminum foil - it's a disaster. Lightly grease pan & you're fine. Also, to avoid the brushing egg whites mess, I rolled into a ball, dipped into egg whites, then nuts, then on to pan. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Ive tried several Pignoli cookies and these are the best. Its true, the bakeries in Brooklyn dont even make them this good. BUT, you have to use SOLO ALMOND PASTE! If you use any other, the cookies will become a soupy mess and deflate in the oven. I make my own almond paste (its cheaper) and just be sure to make an almond paste thats stiff and very granular, not soft, otherwise these cookies will collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Simple recipe, delicious! I have a very old recipe from my Italian family which is: 1 lb almond paste, 4 egg whites at room temp. 1/2 c sugar, enough pignolias to coat cookies. I modify by not adding any sugar (almond paste is plenty sweet) Mix almond paste and egg whites in heavy duty mixer. because this mix is very wet, I add about 1 c. fine shredded unsweetened coconut and about 1 c. slivered almonds which I've chopped in food processor. Mixture will now be stiff. use about 1 T dough for each cookie.. flatten slightly and press into pignolia. Bake 350 10 - 12 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are so good, very light and like a macaroon. I made them for my brother's family that has gluten allergies, I hope they like them as much as I did. Very easy to make in the food processor. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe! I didn't make any changes ... I chilled the dough for about 10 minutes and did bake the cookies on parchment paper without any problems. I used about 1 1/2 small containers of the pine nuts which more than covered all of the cookies. I rolled my dough in about 1 inch balls, and got 46 cookies out of the reicpe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! The cookies taste like you bought them from Mulberry St. in Little Italy. Everyone that tries these LOVES them. Today is the first time I tried cooking them on parchment paper and it worked wonderfully. No sticking at all. I did use foil in the past and there was some sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I should have read the reviews and refrigerated the dough because I found it very hard to work with. Also I had to bake for 5-6 minutes more and they still were barely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States