Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I tried this recipe twice and both times the batter is too loose. Using SOLO almond paste. What am I doing wrong and cannot form in my hands??? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These were absolutley the best pignoli cookies I have ever had!!! Easy to make and better than any bakery ones I have bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicous! I don't know what the fuss is about only using Solo brand Almond Paste I used Odense brand and they came perfect! I whisked the egg-whites before adding them into the food-processor and no problem. My only suggestion isWETTING your hands with WATER to roll them into balls no reason to get your hands full off egg whites as suggested in another review. Also if you refrigerate the dough it is easier to work with. Buon Apetito and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is the third time I've made this recipe. The first time my mom got me almond paste from a bakery, the second time I bought canned paste at the supermarket and this year we got Solo almond paste at the supermarket. If you have to buy it at the supermarket, my advice is to buy Solo (as suggested by another reviewer). More tips: I always use parchment paper, even for the rest of my cookies (slide right off). Bake pignolis til very lightly browned around edge (they won't be too gummy). Make sure you have enough pignoli nuts (I bought 2 bags and had very little left over) and those that were left over I ground up and used as topping for the cookie press cookies. All in all this is an outstanding recipe and I thank you Adele for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Castagnola Zito
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The solo can is 8oz and the recipe calls for 12. I used 2 cans of almond paste, and multipied everything else by 1 1/2. My other tip - flouring hands doesn't work. My theory? If you can't beat em, join em. sounds gross, but I put some egg whites on my hands when making the balls. Then dip just the top in the nuts, they'll look more like the bakery, and you'll use less. Worked like a charm, they came out PERFECT!! I followed others tips: use parchment, chill the dough. 3 egg whites went in without beating first. Also, remember to make them small and far apart on the sheet, they will get bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Thanks to the reviews I used parchment instead of Foil and cooked them for approx. 20-22 min which gave them a golden color outside and a soft inside. absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My first time making Pignoli cookies and they turned out great! I followed the recipe as is and had no problems. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My husband and I just made this as a Mother's Day treat for my in-laws. It was fantastic! Definitely agree with other reviewers that it helps to use parchment paper. We also added a splash or two of Disaronno Ameretto to the egg white wash for extra flavor at is was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe! Word of warning though - the ingredients are expensive and it was a lot of time and work to make these, but they are really a treat. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good cookies. So easy to make. Everyone is always asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer11203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
They were way too sweet and lacked enough almond flavoring. They also flattened out when cooking and looked like a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States