Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful!! I use my food processor to make the cookies, put it in the fridge for 30 min. Then use a small scoop to drop cookies on a parchment lined pan, brush with egg white (1 is plenty) and top with pignoli nuts. Easy and works!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Sweet, but not too sweet, these are incredibly good with a cup of black coffee or a citrus-y herb tea. Once had a half-zested orange and thought "why not" so added the rest of the zest (about a tsp.)to this recipe. Yes! Perfect excuse (if you needed one) to have a couple of these cookies for breakfast! Chill the almond paste before processing with the sugar and the dough is nice and firm to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These were a disaster! I should not have used lightly greased foil, cookies stuck to the foil. I had to toss about 5 cookies. Perhaps using parchment paper would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
YUMMY! My first time making pignoli cookies...this was just too simple!!! Everyone LOVED them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made these today and they are delicious. They taste just like the ones my Sicilian mom and aunt used to make! I used the "Solo" brand canned almond paste. The only thing I did different was I scaled it down because I just wanted to try it and because the almond paste came in 8oz cans. I scaled it down to 24 servings and it worked out perfectly. I used my food processor to do the mixing and it did a great job. I couldn't imagine trying to use my hand mixer for this as the paste was pretty hard, almost like cement. Definitely chill the dough before forming the cookies and flour your hands after each ball because it is pretty sticky. Only mistake I made was putting these directly on a "non-stick" cookie sheet. Next time I will go with the parchment paper. I just forgot... But these are excellent. Anyone would think I bought them at a fancy bakery! I never knew these cookies were SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Fantastic cookies!!! This was my first time making these cookies, and I was extremely nervous because, well, they are not cheap to make! But, I followed the recipe and various reviewers' comments, and I achieved pignoli perfection! I followed the recipe exactly, and here are my tips: 1) I have a very, very small food processor, so here is what I had to do: I combined the almond paste and granulated sugar in a bowl, and I mushed the two together by hand, kneading the sugar into the paste. When it all seemed incorporated, I put little batches of the paste-sugar in the processor and whirred it around. After the mixture was smooth, I put it all into another, larger bowl; added egg whites and mixed with a hand mixer on LOW speed (careful: splatter potential). I then added the confectioner sugar, a 1/4 cup at a time, blending with hand mixer after each addition. Mixed until smooth. 2) Definitely refrigerate the dough--15-20 mins is great. 3) Definitely use parchment paper; also, the cookies don't spread THAT much, so I was able to fit 7 on a sheet. 4) Baked at 325 for about 20-25 mins. Take them out when they JUST start to brown on the edges, even if the centers look pale--the cookies will harden perfectly once out of the oven and they start to cool. I will definitely be making these again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm from Brooklyn, NY, home to some of the most amazing bakeries. I'd promised my dad I'd try my hand at making his favorite cookies, so I found this recipe and took a chance. This isn't an easy cookie to make, but its sure worth the work! My food processor wasn't large enough, so I transferred the batter to my Kitchen Aid mixer and it was fine. I'd lined my cookie sheets with foil and butter flavored spray, and that was fine too. CHILL THE BATTER. If you don't, you'll have a mess on your hands! The recipe yielded 24 mid to large size cookies and I'd used 2 cups of pignoli nuts. The cookies took at least 20 minutes to bake in a preheated 300 degree oven. THE BOTTOMS BURN EASILY, so watch like a hawk, place your racks in the top part of your oven, and rotate your pans often. The cookies tell you when they're done because they'll separate easily from the foil and the bottom will be more golden than the top. If they're sticking to the foil, they're NOT DONE. Once cooled, I'd sprinkled lightly with confectioners sugar. They were simultaneously crunchy, yet tender due to the almond paste. My family gave rave reviews, especially my dad, so these will become part of my baking repertoire going forward. The cost difference between this recipe and the bakery is about 50%. Bakery charges about $25 per pound while this recipe yields two pounds for $25, not including your labor of love :) This recipe was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! One suggestion - chill the dough before baking. It is very difficult to manage at room temperature. Also I agree with other reviewers that the quality of the almond paste is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Theses cookies were so easy to make and everyone loved them. I will definitely use this recipe as one of my Xmas cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States