Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have been looking all over for this recipe thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
the batter was so liquidy, i couldn't make any balls. the cookies were so thin and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
These are so good- wonderful! Very easy to make too and I don't even have access to a food processor right now. I just used a hand mixer. I only had 200 grams of marzipan so I scaled the recipe to 21. Chewy and delicious. Pretty sweet, but I think they're supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
the is the very very best pignoli cookies I have every made. Very,very,very easy. Very,very,very best ever.DONOT use egg whites from a box.This last time that's what I used. What a disaster!!!!They spread out so large(3") and did not cook.Stuck to pan. Had to soak pans and cookies in hot water and soap.W#ent back too real eggs and guess what????Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I love these cookies - but you have to like almond paste. It also helps to have the right tools to make this recipe easily. #1 I can not say enough about using Reynolds RELEASE foil to line your cookie sheet! They will not stick - I used a quick spray of Pam on top, but I don't think it's necessary. Also do not use a pan with sides - the cookies will not brown properly. OK - on to the recipe - I used a food processor to crumble the almond paste and mix in the sugar ( I agree with other reviewers that you can use a little less than a cup of sugar) Then I transferred the mixture to a large mixing bowl. In a smaller mixing bowl whip the egg whites until stiff, then fold into the almond mixture. At this point, you can scoop (I used my smallest cookie scoop - 1 tablespoon - but did not fill it quite full) the mixture and then press on the pine nuts or you can chill the mixture and then use the scoop and make balls and roll the balls in pinenuts. Either way works. They do spread so give them some room on the pan. I ran out of pine nuts and used some slivered almonds which were OK, but the pine nuts are better. If I used the almonds again, I would chop them a little bit finer. Bake until lightly golden - it took mine longer than 12 minutes. Watch. With the Release Foil cooling and removing was a breeze. Chewy inside, crunch outside - if you cook longer until light brown they will be crunchy like amaretti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My whole family can't stop talking about these cookies, I overheard "better than bakery" many times! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These are excellent cookies! I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe but the next time I make them I won't use foil on the cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I first tasted these cookies on a visit to Brooklyn with some good friends about ten years ago. I loved these cookies and tried several recipes but this one is definitely the best. I chilled the dough for about 30 minutes and added 1/4 tsp. salt. Deeeeelicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great cookie - even Nonna approved! I made them for a party and the hostess wanted the recipe. I used parchment paper instead of aluminum foil and spray. I chilled the dough for 15 - 30 minutes for firmness. Very messy to make, I thought it would be my first and last time making them but it was worth the mess. I will be making them again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These taste very good, although they do need some salt to balance out the sweetness. I would add about 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of salt to the recipe. The cookies stuck to parchment paper and I was unable to get them off without mis-shaping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States