Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I love the flavor of almond paste and these really satisfied my craving- they were chewy with a crisp outside. I dropped the cookie batter portions into a pile of brown rice flour (still gluten free) to be able to roll into a ball easily. I also didn't have pine nuts so used crushed almonds. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Just made these cookies. They turned out great. I used Techniques Silicone Baking Boards and NO sticking (my first time ever - made Pignoli cookies before different recipe). They are available at QVC. Thanks for this recipe. Will continue to use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I tried this recipe twice and both times the batter is too loose. Using SOLO almond paste. What am I doing wrong and cannot form in my hands??? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These were absolutley the best pignoli cookies I have ever had!!! Easy to make and better than any bakery ones I have bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Fede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicous! I don't know what the fuss is about only using Solo brand Almond Paste I used Odense brand and they came perfect! I whisked the egg-whites before adding them into the food-processor and no problem. My only suggestion isWETTING your hands with WATER to roll them into balls no reason to get your hands full off egg whites as suggested in another review. Also if you refrigerate the dough it is easier to work with. Buon Apetito and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is the third time I've made this recipe. The first time my mom got me almond paste from a bakery, the second time I bought canned paste at the supermarket and this year we got Solo almond paste at the supermarket. If you have to buy it at the supermarket, my advice is to buy Solo (as suggested by another reviewer). More tips: I always use parchment paper, even for the rest of my cookies (slide right off). Bake pignolis til very lightly browned around edge (they won't be too gummy). Make sure you have enough pignoli nuts (I bought 2 bags and had very little left over) and those that were left over I ground up and used as topping for the cookie press cookies. All in all this is an outstanding recipe and I thank you Adele for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Castagnola Zito
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The solo can is 8oz and the recipe calls for 12. I used 2 cans of almond paste, and multipied everything else by 1 1/2. My other tip - flouring hands doesn't work. My theory? If you can't beat em, join em. sounds gross, but I put some egg whites on my hands when making the balls. Then dip just the top in the nuts, they'll look more like the bakery, and you'll use less. Worked like a charm, they came out PERFECT!! I followed others tips: use parchment, chill the dough. 3 egg whites went in without beating first. Also, remember to make them small and far apart on the sheet, they will get bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Thanks to the reviews I used parchment instead of Foil and cooked them for approx. 20-22 min which gave them a golden color outside and a soft inside. absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My first time making Pignoli cookies and they turned out great! I followed the recipe as is and had no problems. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States