Pignoli Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
So easy, I couldn't believe it. Thought for sure an ingredient was missing (flour). Now that I've used the Solo brand almond paste I can see how the Odense brand would not have worked - Solo is more more sense and so it gives the cookies the consistency you need. I've used the Odense brand for rainbow cookies - worked fine there, but definitely get the Solo brand for these! Made these for my son's international day at school but wished I had doubled the recipe so I could keep some home for me (LOL)! Next time...just for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
batter tastes good but can't roll into a cookie as the batter is too watery. Very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The dough was liquid and I couldn't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My daughter's boyfriend is from Jersey where he's used to paying $29 per pound for these cookies at an Italian Bakery. I made them as directed using Odense Almond Paste, which was not runny at all. I refrigerated the dough before beginning to scoop them. I baked them on parchment and let them cool for a minute. They needed to cool longer to come off easily. Her boyfriend LOVED them and said they were just like those he's used to from the bakery back home! These cookies are soft after being sealed in a container, if left at room temp. They will stick together, so separating layers of cookies with waxed paper or parchment will help. Great flavor. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful!! I use my food processor to make the cookies, put it in the fridge for 30 min. Then use a small scoop to drop cookies on a parchment lined pan, brush with egg white (1 is plenty) and top with pignoli nuts. Easy and works!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Sweet, but not too sweet, these are incredibly good with a cup of black coffee or a citrus-y herb tea. Once had a half-zested orange and thought "why not" so added the rest of the zest (about a tsp.)to this recipe. Yes! Perfect excuse (if you needed one) to have a couple of these cookies for breakfast! Chill the almond paste before processing with the sugar and the dough is nice and firm to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These were a disaster! I should not have used lightly greased foil, cookies stuck to the foil. I had to toss about 5 cookies. Perhaps using parchment paper would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
YUMMY! My first time making pignoli cookies...this was just too simple!!! Everyone LOVED them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made these today and they are delicious. They taste just like the ones my Sicilian mom and aunt used to make! I used the "Solo" brand canned almond paste. The only thing I did different was I scaled it down because I just wanted to try it and because the almond paste came in 8oz cans. I scaled it down to 24 servings and it worked out perfectly. I used my food processor to do the mixing and it did a great job. I couldn't imagine trying to use my hand mixer for this as the paste was pretty hard, almost like cement. Definitely chill the dough before forming the cookies and flour your hands after each ball because it is pretty sticky. Only mistake I made was putting these directly on a "non-stick" cookie sheet. Next time I will go with the parchment paper. I just forgot... But these are excellent. Anyone would think I bought them at a fancy bakery! I never knew these cookies were SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States