Pig Picking Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I make this in a 9X13 pan and then frost the cake with the pudding/pineapple/whipped topping mixture. It is great after it's been refrigerated for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I've been making this for years (but without the walnuts...I'll have to try it that way next time!), and I've always gotten RAVE reviews! It's nice & light, not too sweet with a heavy frosting (perfect for the "I don't eat sweets" crowd)...just right for spring & summer! And the icing...I've literally had people just eat the icing right off of the cake! I've also seen folks scrape the leftover moist "goodies" from the pan after the cake is all gone (I'm a guilty gal on that escapade as well!)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I have made this cake minus the nuts for almost 30 years. No one that has eaten it has not loved it. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did notice one big difference with the recipe I have used for years, I use 1 can of mandarin oranges plus the juice instead of the water called for on the cake mix box. You still use the eggs and oil. I use French vanilla flavored pudding mix. I have only ever used a 9X13 pan and no nuts. So I will have to try nuts sometime. I have made this recipe for years, but the lady I got it from was from the south and she called it Pea Picking cake. A light and moist dessert that everyone loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was a huge hit for 4th of July. However, because I was bringing it somewhere (and I imagine it isn't incredibly sturdy), I made it in a 13 x 9" pan. I also added 1/2 cup of coconut to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Perfect cake when you are looking for something not too sweet yet filled with flavor. Note to self: Use light juice from oranges to replace part of the water in cake mix, save a few oranges to decorate cake. Add oranges and nuts halfway through beating cake to break up oranges. Add shredded coconut to the topping/filling if on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My mom taught me to make this cake except she uses pecans instead of walnuts. Sometimes, if we have them laying around, we'll chop up strawberries and put it in the frosting as well. To me it's better this way, but mom likes it just fine he original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Very good cake. I had so much filling and topping that I used a little and froze the rest. I added coconut and a tiny bit of rum extract and orange extract, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was awesome! I had trouble with my layers cracking in two when I stacked them {because of all the filling in between layers} but it tasted so great no one cared. I will definately make this again. Maybe a sheet cake would work better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmatheson
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This has been a family favorite for years. I usually bake it in a 9x13" pan for about 35 minutes instead of as layers. I also don't put in the nuts or coconut. I just don't think it needs it. You'd think this would be a really rich dessert but with the tarter fruits it's so refreshing. I have also used low fat/non-fat/lite ingredients and it didn't change a thing as far as taste or appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States