Pig Picking Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My mom made this growing up and I make it now for our family functions. It is a great light summer dessert, or a "light" dessert alternative to rich chocolate cakes and pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I've been making this for years. The only thing different is that I split the recipe and pour into 3 round cake pans. When completed I have a 3 layer cake with frosting between each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I used orange supreme cake mix and it was excellent with the mandarin oranges mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My mom taught me to make this cake except she uses pecans instead of walnuts. Sometimes, if we have them laying around, we'll chop up strawberries and put it in the frosting as well. To me it's better this way, but mom likes it just fine he original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I really thought this would have more flavor. I found the cake soft and fluffy but, rather bland as well. The mandarin oranges really did not add much to the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Not a fan of this recipe. The icing is good which is why I am giving it 3 stars. The oranges sunk to the bottom of the cake and seemed way too chunky for this cake. Really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Perfect cake when you are looking for something not too sweet yet filled with flavor. Note to self: Use light juice from oranges to replace part of the water in cake mix, save a few oranges to decorate cake. Add oranges and nuts halfway through beating cake to break up oranges. Add shredded coconut to the topping/filling if on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
very feeling very light nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I love this cake,,, I have maded it for years too,,, 3 layers,, but in between the layer along with the filling I put a layer of fruit,,, such as strawberries, bananas , kiwi,,, I guess you could put anything on/in it! great,,, everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this cake for the family, everyone loved it, and aksed for seconds. Next time I will add some sweetened coconut. Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States