Pig Picking Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I used orange supreme cake mix and it was excellent with the mandarin oranges mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My mom taught me to make this cake except she uses pecans instead of walnuts. Sometimes, if we have them laying around, we'll chop up strawberries and put it in the frosting as well. To me it's better this way, but mom likes it just fine he original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I really thought this would have more flavor. I found the cake soft and fluffy but, rather bland as well. The mandarin oranges really did not add much to the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Not a fan of this recipe. The icing is good which is why I am giving it 3 stars. The oranges sunk to the bottom of the cake and seemed way too chunky for this cake. Really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Perfect cake when you are looking for something not too sweet yet filled with flavor. Note to self: Use light juice from oranges to replace part of the water in cake mix, save a few oranges to decorate cake. Add oranges and nuts halfway through beating cake to break up oranges. Add shredded coconut to the topping/filling if on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
very feeling very light nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I love this cake,,, I have maded it for years too,,, 3 layers,, but in between the layer along with the filling I put a layer of fruit,,, such as strawberries, bananas , kiwi,,, I guess you could put anything on/in it! great,,, everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this cake for the family, everyone loved it, and aksed for seconds. Next time I will add some sweetened coconut. Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
My friend made this for me on my birthday. I absolutely love it but I think it is more like a bread pudding. She added an egg to the3 cake mix and eliminated the water because of the juice in the madarin oranges. Do any of you find this same consistency. She expected more of a caky consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was a huge hit for 4th of July. However, because I was bringing it somewhere (and I imagine it isn't incredibly sturdy), I made it in a 13 x 9" pan. I also added 1/2 cup of coconut to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States