Pig Picking Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this for a Mardi Gras themed dinner party. It was a huge hit! Everyone just laughed at the name and kept asking why is it called that. The only adjustments I made was to toast both the coconut and pecans. It looks and tastes great when toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymakin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vickie Skinner
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made mine in a 9 x 13 pan. It was better than fantastic! My hubby is a chocolate cake fanatic, but he ate a very large piece of this and asked for more!! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Skinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious. I only cook with butter (not margarine), but didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Everyone loved it. I prefer not to use frozen whipped topping so substituted ricotta cheese,powdered sugar, and vanilla extract in the food processor til smooth. It worked great, by the time you stir in the pineapple and pudding mix you never miss the cool whip. Just be sure to process a long time til it's super smooth. I think cream cheese and a little milk would work as well. I've tried yogurt in the past as a cool whip replacement but it's tough to disguise the sour yogurt-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Odd name but delicious. I made this as a single layer cake in a rectangle pan. The only thing I added was about a 1/2 cup of toasted coconut to the top of the cake. This is more like a pie than a cake. Everyone loved it. This was great on a very hot July 4th week. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
refreshing cake that I would suggest to make the day ahead to really let the flavors come out. Light and so good. Thank you for providing a simple, but yet very tasty recipe. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmatheson
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A family favorite for years but we have always called it Pig Lickin' Cake. I usually make it in a 9x13" pan (for about 35 minutes) and leave out the nuts and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
delish delish delish and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, Montana, USA
Living In: Glasgow, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My family and I LOVE this cake! The only problem is wanting to finish the whole thing so fast. I followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made mine in a 9x13 pan. The consistency of the cake was great - very moist, but it lacked enough flavor for me to rate it 5 stars. I recommend making a trial run at this recipe before planning to serve for an event/special occasion. I think it is an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States