Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! The only problem I had with this cake was the whipped cream frosting kept running down the sides as quickly as I could put it on. I had to immediately put it in the freezer to set it. Any suggestions for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Make sure you COOL the cake in refrigerator before putting the cool whip topping on it! I make this in a 9x13 pan and bake for about 40 minutes..testing with a toothpick. You can make the cake one or two days ahead and make the topping just before you need it. The covered cake pan makes for easier traveling to potlucks or work..everyone LOVES this cake. We also know it as Pineapple Dream Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I have made this cake several times, its a super moist cake with that light not too sweet taste. Everytime I make it everyone comes back for second helpings. I usually just use a 9x11 pan instead of 3 8" pans and 8oz of cool whip. It's easier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This ia a simple recipe and it makes the BEST cake. I add 2 cans of mandarin oranges (drain only 1 can)It turns out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Everyone loves this. I use a 9x13 pan but never change anything else about the recipe. It is light, cool and fruity -- perect to end a rich meal and even better when made early the day you will serve it or even the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I got this recipe from my ex's mother 28 years ago. but we called it cottin pickin good cake. We add chopped pecans or walnuts, (bout 1/2 cup) to the icing. It firms it up. also if you make a day ahead the fruit soaks in better. this cake is verrrrrrry moist.I have never served it to anyone that did not like it. Note: I am also from Tennessee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
We had a potluck at our lake place during the Labor Day weekend. I provided the desserts. Let me tell you, everyone went crazy for this cake. It was so moist, flavorful, and refreshing. I made one using the yellow cake mix as suggested, then one using an orange cake mix. Both were really good! Thanks teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I love this cake! I am a Southern export, and people always ask me to make this recipe. To answer the question about the frosting running, make sure the cake is completely cooled, and keep the frosting in the fridge until ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
We really do call this "Pig Pickin' cake" in SC because it's often served at barbecues called "Pig Pickin's." I guess different areas of the country have different names for this recipe. Whatever it's called, it's an easy recipe that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I used my own homemade yellow cake base and built on it. It came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States