Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
THIS IS A WONDERFUL RECIPE! SUPER EASY AND VERY MOIST. I'LL DEFINITELY BE MAKING THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
A refreshing cake when you don't want anything too,too sweet. gloraine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! The only problem I had with this cake was the whipped cream frosting kept running down the sides as quickly as I could put it on. I had to immediately put it in the freezer to set it. Any suggestions for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
I laughed out loud when I saw your title...it's actually a PEA Pickin' Cake...LOL...but whatever you call it...it's a delicious cool dessert for summertime. I don't know of a single soul who doesn't like this cake! Always part of our Easter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
We really do call this "Pig Pickin' cake" in SC because it's often served at barbecues called "Pig Pickin's." I guess different areas of the country have different names for this recipe. Whatever it's called, it's an easy recipe that tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I love this cake! I am a Southern export, and people always ask me to make this recipe. To answer the question about the frosting running, make sure the cake is completely cooled, and keep the frosting in the fridge until ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
A sweet treat - even my picky daughter liked this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This is a fabulous cake! Very easy and so tasty. This cake doesn’t last long, great for summer parties. The fruit makes it naturally sweet. I’ve made this cake several times and its always a great hit. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLERUDEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
I added some flaked coconut to the frosting to make it a little like a "pina colada" cake and my family just loved it! They keep asking for it again! Delicious and not too heavy-tasting. Thanx for the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This is the easiest recipe to make and it always gets great reviews when I take it to dinners. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States