Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Yum - I would easily give this 4-1/2 stars! I chopped up some mandarin oranges and added it to the fluff icing along with the pineapple. I also took the drained pineapple juice, added some sugar and heated onto the stove into a simple syrup. After the cake was cooled I punched holes into the cake with a fork and lightly brushed the cooled syrup onto the layers to keep the cake moist before icing. I also iced the cake on the sides. Anyone that had a problem with the icing slipping down the sides - make sure you refrigerate the icing for a little while before using it to help the pudding mix set-up. I had no problems at all after that. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
One of my favorite cakes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
A very light and refreshing cake. I used about 12 oz. of Cool Whip for the frosting and only lightly drained the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is great only instead of just putting icing on the top of the layers I cover the entire cake with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is always a crowd pleaser (My manager asked me to give his wife the recipe) and is not yout typical 'heavy' cake. Light and refreshing and always moist. I love this cake and make it in a 9x13 pan - you can also reduce the calories by using lite cool whip in icing and some applesause in place of the oil...I would say 'MAKE THIS CAKE'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very delicious - very easy. Most everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Made this for my husband who remembered it from his childhood. It was exactly what he was looking for. We loved it. A nice non heavy cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This cake is divine! Everyone loves it! I like to put some of the mandarin oranges in the icing as well as the pineapple. Also, I double the icing recipe that way I can generously icing and if there is leftovers we just eat it out of the bowl!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
A big hit at our Super Bowl Party! After wings and chips and chili etc, everyone was in the mood for a lighter dessert. To those who had trouble with the frosting: make sure you take the time to drain the pineapple and keep the frosting in the refrigerator until you need it (and after frosting). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Really moist cake and the icing was perfect! My husband doesn't like icing usually because it's too sweet, but he loved this. I used a can of oranges instead of pineapple for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States