Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
A very light and refreshing cake. I used about 12 oz. of Cool Whip for the frosting and only lightly drained the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is great only instead of just putting icing on the top of the layers I cover the entire cake with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is always a crowd pleaser (My manager asked me to give his wife the recipe) and is not yout typical 'heavy' cake. Light and refreshing and always moist. I love this cake and make it in a 9x13 pan - you can also reduce the calories by using lite cool whip in icing and some applesause in place of the oil...I would say 'MAKE THIS CAKE'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very delicious - very easy. Most everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Made this for my husband who remembered it from his childhood. It was exactly what he was looking for. We loved it. A nice non heavy cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This cake is divine! Everyone loves it! I like to put some of the mandarin oranges in the icing as well as the pineapple. Also, I double the icing recipe that way I can generously icing and if there is leftovers we just eat it out of the bowl!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
A big hit at our Super Bowl Party! After wings and chips and chili etc, everyone was in the mood for a lighter dessert. To those who had trouble with the frosting: make sure you take the time to drain the pineapple and keep the frosting in the refrigerator until you need it (and after frosting). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Really moist cake and the icing was perfect! My husband doesn't like icing usually because it's too sweet, but he loved this. I used a can of oranges instead of pineapple for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Wonderful cake recipe! I didn't have the right of cool whip on hand (1/2 the amount) but the icing turned out very good, thicker though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrialByFire
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe has been a family holiday staple for as long as I can remember. It's great after it's first made but even better after it's been in the fridge over night - - there was never any left to throw away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aulander, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States