Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Made it for a summer lunch by the pool and EVERYONE loved it...even the kids! I didnt change a thing except I baked it in a 13 X 9 inch glass dish instead of doing layers. Very easy and definately a crowd pleaser!! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was a big hit with my inlaws and family! I did alter it slightly for the waistline. I used low sugar cake mix, sugarfree-fatfree pudding, no sugar added applesauce in place of the oil and light cool whip! It was fantastic! I will definately make this again! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Pretty darn good cake! I used a pineapple cake mix, two large cans of mandarin oranges (drained one can)and mashed the oranges into tiny pieces. I put my cake into a 9x13, which worked fine. For the frosting I used cheesecake flavored pudding and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans - this is a must! It gives it really great texture and nutty sweetness. The crushed pineapple is fabulous! I accented the cake with strawberry chunks - to give a little color contrast. It got great reviews and will definitely make again - next time I will make them into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinolson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
With all the 5 star reviews, I was a little disappointed. I guess it just seemed a little too good to be true, an easy cake that gets 5 stars in my book. I will admit that I am a dessert snob, so maybe I am a little less likely to rate a cake 5 stars unless it is absolute top notch. It was good, but nobody went back for seconds, which is odd in my sweet-toothed family. I don't see myself making this again, but it was worth a try. For a beginner cook, this is probably a great recipe to try. Based on taste alone I would have given it a 3 rating, but because it was so easy to follow I bumped it up to 4. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Even the people who don't like pineapple enjoyed this cake. It's perfect for spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Yum - I would easily give this 4-1/2 stars! I chopped up some mandarin oranges and added it to the fluff icing along with the pineapple. I also took the drained pineapple juice, added some sugar and heated onto the stove into a simple syrup. After the cake was cooled I punched holes into the cake with a fork and lightly brushed the cooled syrup onto the layers to keep the cake moist before icing. I also iced the cake on the sides. Anyone that had a problem with the icing slipping down the sides - make sure you refrigerate the icing for a little while before using it to help the pudding mix set-up. I had no problems at all after that. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
One of my favorite cakes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
A very light and refreshing cake. I used about 12 oz. of Cool Whip for the frosting and only lightly drained the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is great only instead of just putting icing on the top of the layers I cover the entire cake with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is always a crowd pleaser (My manager asked me to give his wife the recipe) and is not yout typical 'heavy' cake. Light and refreshing and always moist. I love this cake and make it in a 9x13 pan - you can also reduce the calories by using lite cool whip in icing and some applesause in place of the oil...I would say 'MAKE THIS CAKE'!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States