Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is the same recipe my gf gave me about 25 years ago, I LOVE IT!!! She calls it Cake Delight. Thanks for sharing Teri ~:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTHAMAEMCB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I did not make the cake - I used a different pineapple cake recipe - but the icing was delicious!! It totally made the other cake so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I guess we all have our name for this cake. I also from TN call it a Sunshine Cake. One thing my husbands's aunt told me; use a wooden spoon to mix the whip cream w/pineapple. Something about the wooden spoon keeps it stiffer and easier to spread. Using a mixer will make it runnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This cake was excellent. I love that the frosting was not too sweet and the pineapples gave it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Atlasnamy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used homemade whipped cream and left out the pineapple and pudding and used more mandarin oranges..yummy yummy yummy in our tummies tummies tummies!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlasnamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Made it for a summer lunch by the pool and EVERYONE loved it...even the kids! I didnt change a thing except I baked it in a 13 X 9 inch glass dish instead of doing layers. Very easy and definately a crowd pleaser!! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was a big hit with my inlaws and family! I did alter it slightly for the waistline. I used low sugar cake mix, sugarfree-fatfree pudding, no sugar added applesauce in place of the oil and light cool whip! It was fantastic! I will definately make this again! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Pretty darn good cake! I used a pineapple cake mix, two large cans of mandarin oranges (drained one can)and mashed the oranges into tiny pieces. I put my cake into a 9x13, which worked fine. For the frosting I used cheesecake flavored pudding and added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans - this is a must! It gives it really great texture and nutty sweetness. The crushed pineapple is fabulous! I accented the cake with strawberry chunks - to give a little color contrast. It got great reviews and will definitely make again - next time I will make them into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinolson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
With all the 5 star reviews, I was a little disappointed. I guess it just seemed a little too good to be true, an easy cake that gets 5 stars in my book. I will admit that I am a dessert snob, so maybe I am a little less likely to rate a cake 5 stars unless it is absolute top notch. It was good, but nobody went back for seconds, which is odd in my sweet-toothed family. I don't see myself making this again, but it was worth a try. For a beginner cook, this is probably a great recipe to try. Based on taste alone I would have given it a 3 rating, but because it was so easy to follow I bumped it up to 4. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Even the people who don't like pineapple enjoyed this cake. It's perfect for spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States