Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good and SOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Good, but will probably not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
i also added another can of mandarin oranges drained....my hubbys favorite cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Vicars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Maybe if I were a real cake fan I'd rate this 5/5 stars, but a cake really has to impress me to rate that highly. However, this is an incredibly simple recipe that drew a number of comments from my peers at work - several who went back for seconds. As such, I'm sure I'll reach for the recipe time and time again. I was particularly pleased with the frosting and am planning on experimenting with other pudding flavors for other cakes. I was also happy that the orange taste was not overpowering, as I'm not a fan. I chose to frost it like the main photo - ie. in between the layers and on top with the Cool Whip/pudding mixture topped with clumps of pineapple, allowing the cake to show through on the sides which looked really impressive. I was sad that, though I hand stirred in the oranges, they broke up too much for chunks to be visible. I am going to try to drain the liquid off next time and mix that in first, then fold in the oranges so there will be larger chunks. I think this will make for a prettier cake, though it may disappoint my personal taste buds due to a stronger orange flavor in some bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Wonderful cake!!! You need to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
try this in cupcakes, make a filling/ topping with cream cheese and strawberries, or raspberries, or the pineapple. great cake recipe, so easy and moist. mmmm we can't even wait for it to cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We have been making this cake for years, and it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delicious and moist. Did not put the oil into the cake, but used a 15 ounce can of oranges with the juice. Let sit in the fridge overnight, and the cake tasted great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a moist and delicious cake, and really quite simple to make. Quite mild citrus flavor in the cake itself. As a variation, instead of mixing crushed pineapple into the whipped cream and pudding, I layered sliced strawberries for two of the layers, and on the top of the cake, I arranged fresh pineapple and fresh strawberries slices. I then put in a few chocolate curls amongst the fresh fruit for added touch. It was well received at the charity banquet I served it at this evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
If you let the cake cool, the icing will not fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States