Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Husband loves this! I've made a lower cal/sugar version using a sugar-free cake mix, etc and it still came out great. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I wanted to try something new for Easter. The name is what got my attention. My family and friends loved it. Some people were surprised when I said that I had never made it before. Everyone wanted the recipe. It is also a really good base for some changes I'm going to try with it next time! I'll post them when I've done that.....80)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The BEST cake, I've ever made. This was so moist and all of the flavors just meshed well together. The family fought for the last piece :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmpeabo
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Made this for my baby's 1st birthday and added color to cake mix and lollipops on top for fun! Great for little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was a favorite cake from childhood for my husband, who referred to it as "pineapple cake" and after searching for years for the recipe, I came across this one it realized it was what he was describing. This really is good and refreshing, and it only improves with age in the frig. Be sure to drain the pineapple well... i used my hand to encourage the juice to drain through the strainer and made sure the cake was well cooled before frosting... no problems with these suggested techniques. I used 9 inch cake pans without a problem, just monitored them in the oven to make sure they were not overdone. Next time I will not blend the oranges so thoroughly as I would have likes some little chunks of orange in the cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I got this recipe from my husband's grandmother who's family were Virginia "mountain people". This is my favorite recipe to bring to potlucks because everyone always loves it. I follow the same recipe, but sometimes I like to add a little pineapple to the batter and some mandarin oranges to the frosting. It is best if it has been refrigerated for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
took this to a church social and mine was the first and ONLY cake gone (we had a cake for every month).Some people had heard of it before, some had not, but ALL loved it!! I have made this 4 times now and it's a winner EVERY time. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The best cake ever made period. Always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Rowe
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, but not something I would crave. Tasted a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a good cake, not a great one. It is definitely convenient and you can pick up the ingredients readily. The ingredients work well together. However, here is my issue: this is super sweet! I think putting in the mandarin juice to an already sweet cake mix makes it too over the top with sugar, plus you can't really taste the mandarin oranges. Next time I will fold them in rather than beating them in, since they broke up to basically nothing. For simplicity, I baked this in a 9x13 pan, which worked fine but browned very quickly at 350. I had to cover it with foil. Next time I will reduce the heat--again, I think the sugar caramelized quickly, another issue with sugar. I would also drain the oranges and put in a bigger can of them, then use plain water rather than the mandarin juice next time. I had no issues with the frosting except it was kind of stiff...i actually drained and squeezed the pineapple because I was worried about it being runny as other reviewers had mentioned. Next time I would not work quite so hard to make the pineapple dry...it definitely needed a little more wetness to work with the pudding. Overall, I will try this again, but it definitely needs tweaking. I may even try it with my own yellow (from scratch) cake recipe so I can control the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States