Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
took this to a church social and mine was the first and ONLY cake gone (we had a cake for every month).Some people had heard of it before, some had not, but ALL loved it!! I have made this 4 times now and it's a winner EVERY time. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The best cake ever made period. Always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good, but not something I would crave. Tasted a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is a good cake, not a great one. It is definitely convenient and you can pick up the ingredients readily. The ingredients work well together. However, here is my issue: this is super sweet! I think putting in the mandarin juice to an already sweet cake mix makes it too over the top with sugar, plus you can't really taste the mandarin oranges. Next time I will fold them in rather than beating them in, since they broke up to basically nothing. For simplicity, I baked this in a 9x13 pan, which worked fine but browned very quickly at 350. I had to cover it with foil. Next time I will reduce the heat--again, I think the sugar caramelized quickly, another issue with sugar. I would also drain the oranges and put in a bigger can of them, then use plain water rather than the mandarin juice next time. I had no issues with the frosting except it was kind of stiff...i actually drained and squeezed the pineapple because I was worried about it being runny as other reviewers had mentioned. Next time I would not work quite so hard to make the pineapple dry...it definitely needed a little more wetness to work with the pudding. Overall, I will try this again, but it definitely needs tweaking. I may even try it with my own yellow (from scratch) cake recipe so I can control the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good and SOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Good, but will probably not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
i also added another can of mandarin oranges drained....my hubbys favorite cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Vicars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Maybe if I were a real cake fan I'd rate this 5/5 stars, but a cake really has to impress me to rate that highly. However, this is an incredibly simple recipe that drew a number of comments from my peers at work - several who went back for seconds. As such, I'm sure I'll reach for the recipe time and time again. I was particularly pleased with the frosting and am planning on experimenting with other pudding flavors for other cakes. I was also happy that the orange taste was not overpowering, as I'm not a fan. I chose to frost it like the main photo - ie. in between the layers and on top with the Cool Whip/pudding mixture topped with clumps of pineapple, allowing the cake to show through on the sides which looked really impressive. I was sad that, though I hand stirred in the oranges, they broke up too much for chunks to be visible. I am going to try to drain the liquid off next time and mix that in first, then fold in the oranges so there will be larger chunks. I think this will make for a prettier cake, though it may disappoint my personal taste buds due to a stronger orange flavor in some bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Wonderful cake!!! You need to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
try this in cupcakes, make a filling/ topping with cream cheese and strawberries, or raspberries, or the pineapple. great cake recipe, so easy and moist. mmmm we can't even wait for it to cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States