Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
SO GOOD! I made it the other night for a small friend-get-together. I didn't try it before I brought it, so I was taking a chance, but it was SO worth it. This cake tastes like it is from a professional bakery. Sadly the family kept the rest of the cake, but I KNOW I'll be making it again very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
One of my most favorite recipes from White Trash Cookbook. I like to make this in a 9x13 baking pan and just frost the top with the whipped topping "frosting" and line the top of the cake with drained mandarin oranges. This is also good with toasted coconut both in the "frosting" and sprinkled on top. EXCELLENT for family get-togethers, potlucks or your own White Trash party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yammuffin
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. I used butter pecan flavoured box cake. Some said it tasted like pancakes. Next time I will use real whipped cream instead of frozen whipped topping, as it makes too sweet for me. Using real whipped cream would taste better and be fine if you are making it in a 9" x 11" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Husband loves this! I've made a lower cal/sugar version using a sugar-free cake mix, etc and it still came out great. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I wanted to try something new for Easter. The name is what got my attention. My family and friends loved it. Some people were surprised when I said that I had never made it before. Everyone wanted the recipe. It is also a really good base for some changes I'm going to try with it next time! I'll post them when I've done that.....80)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The BEST cake, I've ever made. This was so moist and all of the flavors just meshed well together. The family fought for the last piece :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmpeabo
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Made this for my baby's 1st birthday and added color to cake mix and lollipops on top for fun! Great for little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was a favorite cake from childhood for my husband, who referred to it as "pineapple cake" and after searching for years for the recipe, I came across this one it realized it was what he was describing. This really is good and refreshing, and it only improves with age in the frig. Be sure to drain the pineapple well... i used my hand to encourage the juice to drain through the strainer and made sure the cake was well cooled before frosting... no problems with these suggested techniques. I used 9 inch cake pans without a problem, just monitored them in the oven to make sure they were not overdone. Next time I will not blend the oranges so thoroughly as I would have likes some little chunks of orange in the cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I got this recipe from my husband's grandmother who's family were Virginia "mountain people". This is my favorite recipe to bring to potlucks because everyone always loves it. I follow the same recipe, but sometimes I like to add a little pineapple to the batter and some mandarin oranges to the frosting. It is best if it has been refrigerated for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
took this to a church social and mine was the first and ONLY cake gone (we had a cake for every month).Some people had heard of it before, some had not, but ALL loved it!! I have made this 4 times now and it's a winner EVERY time. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States