Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
The icing is what makes this cake and its wonderful!! The one issue I had was that the icing was a bit runny, but I may have not drained the crushed pineapple good enough. Runny icing or not this was an awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Growing up, this cake was the one I requested from my grandmother every year to be my birthday cake, and now I bake it for my kids on their birthdays. It's easy, delicious, moist, and great the next day right out of the fridge. Chill the whipped cream frosting after mixing to make spreading easier. Unlike the pic on this recipe, you want to blend the frosting ingredients all together. Truly, the best cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Lisa W make sure the Cool Whip is very cold. Also make sure house or apartment is nice and cool. I lay all indredients out and take Cool Whip out last. Once I start making the frosting I do not stop. You can also use less of juice from pineapples. I made this cake again today and it was perfect as usual. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have made this many times through the years. The instructions I have had for the frosting is that you mix it and chill it in the frig for 1 hour before frosting the cake. It eliminates the problem of the frosting not being set up and therefore sliding off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The kids beg for this cake its great. I put mine in a 9 by 13 and poke holes in the baked cake and pour the drained pineapple juice over the cake before putting the topping on. This make the cake super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygurl388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evans, Georgia, USA
Living In: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
The worst cake I have ever baked. It sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My friend told me about this recipe and I was happy when I found it on here and saw that it had many rave reviews. I don't know why it had so many great reviews... I didn't think it was that good. It wasn't bad, it's just not something I would ever make again or crave. I didn't make any changes to the recipe either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Reminds me of the kind of cake my mom made for us as kids. Same ingredients, (except the mandarin) but less steps. Very tasty! Does make you keep coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States