Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Yummy! Made some personal preference changes (who doesn't, right) ... No nuts or coconut, hubby doesn't like them and it was HIS birthday! Used lemon cake mix and Added marshmallow fluff to frosting...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crissyk3554
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great spring time dessert. Made for Easter dinner. Delicious as always. I only have two round pans so I only have two layers. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikamccall
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Definitely my great-grandmas recipe!!! Thanks for sharing. #Memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Made this and have already had people asking for the recipe. Put a layer of bananas on the cake before frosting and topped with pecans. Have used many great yellow cake mixes but for this particular recipe Jiffy yellow cake mix makes it seem lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Simple and delicious. I have a house of 7 and it was certainly a hit. I also made it in a 9x13 pan, when cooled sliced in half and put filling in the middle. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My mom made this when I was a kid and it brought back so many good memories! I made it into cupcakes. So fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Everyone raves about this cake and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This cake was okay overall. the frosting was delicious, but the cake was surprising dry...would have thought the mandarin oranges would have made it moister. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used 2, 9 inch rounds, rather than 3, 8 inch for baking. I don't think I over baked...watched them carefully and removed when toothpick came out almost clean. I think I will try the version with cream cheese if I make this type of cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I had problems the first time not draining my pineapple enough so had runny icing. Now I frost it with a can of white icing and sprinkle coconut on it. Cake bakes great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love this recipe! I have been making it for a couple of years now. My husband can't get enough of this cake. I take this to all get togethers and people just love it. I use 15 oz mandarin oranges and I use 1/4 cup apple sauce instead of oil. I also use fat free cool whip and fat free pudding. The cake is so moist. It is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States