Pig Pickin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
love this but instead of oranges i put pineapples instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Davila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have made this cake many times and it is delicious. But, by looking at this picture, it is most unappealing looking. When making the frosting, blend the drained pineapple into the cool whip and instant vanilla pudding powder, it makes for a nicer presentation. Remember, do not make the pudding, just sprinkle the powder over c ool whip and drained pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My Mom made this last weekend when I went down to NC to visit her. Wow is this cake great. I cant wait to make one at home when I return.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stewart brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This has always been one of my favorite cakes! Great recipe, just like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Almost didn't try this recipe just based on the name, but I'm glad I did. A couple things I noticed with the recipe- Cake mixes where I live are around 15 oz, not 18. canned mandarins do not come in 11oz cans, and pineapple does not come in 15 oz cans, so I bought the closest sizes I could, then just left some out. For oranges, it says "juice reserved" which usually means save the juice, set aside; but the directions say to use the juice. SO after I took some fruit out of the cans, and removed the juice that would go with the removed oranges, I added the remaining oranges and juice to the batter. I made my cake in a 9x13 pan, turned out fine. For the topping, I did as others suggested, and drained the pineapple but also squished it down some to get more juice off before mixing with the cool whip and pudding. Instead of coating the whole cake, I am keeping the topping separate in the cool whip container in the fridge, and using it as we need it since we don't like soggy cake. Changes I would make next time- I would use all of the mandarin oranges, (I think it was 15oz) but still eliminate the same amount of juice, as it was perfect texture. I would also try half orange, half pineapple in the cake batter as well. Hubby thinks that would be great. Overall, very nice, love the light topping, and will make again for sure, probably trying different fruits in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Yummy! Made some personal preference changes (who doesn't, right) ... No nuts or coconut, hubby doesn't like them and it was HIS birthday! Used lemon cake mix and Added marshmallow fluff to frosting...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crissyk3554
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great spring time dessert. Made for Easter dinner. Delicious as always. I only have two round pans so I only have two layers. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikamccall
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Definitely my great-grandmas recipe!!! Thanks for sharing. #Memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Made this and have already had people asking for the recipe. Put a layer of bananas on the cake before frosting and topped with pecans. Have used many great yellow cake mixes but for this particular recipe Jiffy yellow cake mix makes it seem lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great recipe! Simple and delicious. I have a house of 7 and it was certainly a hit. I also made it in a 9x13 pan, when cooled sliced in half and put filling in the middle. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States