Pig Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We LOVED this! The only change I would make next time (we all agreed) would be to use a different kind of bread, as this was not sturdy enough to hold all the goodness, and was sort of dry and fell a part, but that could've been this particular focaccia. This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Fabulous! This "burger" was definitely a nice twist on a "BLT" and took it up a notch or two, espcially with the addition of the creamy guacamole and herb mayo. This was oh so good and perfect for a quick and easy weeknight meal. I seasoned my chicken breast with "Cajun Spice Mix", made my own herb mayo using Hellman's light mayo and mix of my own favorite herbs (just get creative and do what tastes good to you). I also used "Simply Guacamole" from this site. I can see how one can make a "Pig" of themselves because these are so good you'd be tempted to eat more than one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Great recipe, used regular buns as I didn't have focaccia, and used the bacon sliced instead of crumbled. Had some avocado I needed to use up so this was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight. Follow the directions and it's just tasty. Took another reviewer's suggestion for herb mayo, but added mild tabasco instead of buffalo sauce. Messy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. My 9 year old son and I make it once or twice a month and he gets excited every time we do. We usually substitute a whole wheat kaiser bun for the focaccia to save on cost. As a dad, it's nice to have a hearty recipe that I feel good about serving. Really easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Man this was a BIG BURGER! It was almost inedible, we had to keep squishing ours down! But it was soooo good! I made an herb mayo as following: 1/4 C. mayo, 1 tsp. buffalo sauce, 1/2 tsp each: dried basil leaves, italian seasoning and parsley. It was perfect! I used an italian cheese/herb focaccia. I think it's better if you lightly toast the bread first because focaccia has a very chewy texture that doesn't make good sandwiches in my opinion. Instead of making guacamole, I just mashed an avacado and used that. This was really delicious, I will be making it again, but probably flattening the chicken breast before I cook it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
The Pig Burger: Because you will feel like a pig after you eat it. :o Seriously, this turned into a MAMMOTH burger for me. But talk about delicious. Omg. I wasn't too sure about the herb-y mayo and the guacamole, but do it. I made Nana's Fabulous Faccacia Bread to go with this, and it was for lack of a better word - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is FANTASTIC!! My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was delicious, messy, but very delicious! I made my own guacamole and herb mayo (lite mayo w/ some oregano, basil, and a bit of dill.) I cut the bacon in half for small slices instead of crumbled and also used big onion poppyseed rolls. If you don't mind making a bit of mess while eating, the combination of flavors here is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Great combo!! Yum! My husband couldn't stop with the compliments. Make sure you don't use chicken thats too thick, I could hardly get my mouth around this with the focaccia being so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States