Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I married a Ukrainian so I KNOW pierogies lol We make hundreds of them at a time a few dozen times a year. To add some actual flavor to this recipe add onion powder to the dough at least 1/2 teaspoon and some PEPPER to the potatoes I added tellicherry fresh cracked pepper and some chives as well. With the onions omg add them to the potatos themselves!! Carmalize them and add them to the mashed potatoes ,and make sure to season the potatoes with sea salt and pepper and once u add the carmalized onions they will pop with flavor. I also use dry curd cottage cheese to which carmalized onions have been added as well. If you want to make a cream soup ,save the water u boil the pieriogies in and reduce it by half,then add some cream and pop back in some unfried pierogies and you have a nice cream soup recipe for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhinka Chunmee
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I do make this recipe, but I let the sour cream come to room temp. first and I add about a cup and a half more flour. Once made,I wrap well and freeze first, then when I need to make perogys I thaw the dough in the fridge. It has a better texture after being frozen. I use quite a few different fillings but our fav. is potato and cheddar cheese. It has to be old cheddar though, this gives it more flavour. I use five pounds of potatoes and 1 1/2 pounds of grated cheddar, that needs to be put into the potatoes when they are hot when mashing, also lots off fresh ground pepper to taste. I also do not roll the dough and cut. I cut strips, roll into snakes and slice of pieces to flatten with a rolling pin. this way there is no waste and the dough does not become tough from over working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The dough gets an "A" for simplicity. It calls for 2c mashed potatoes. I take that to mean already prepared mashed potatoes, so how you make your potatoes is up to you. I added cheese and onions to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I loved how easy it was to make the dough, and the sour cream gave it a really yummy taste. I used a big upside-down cup to cut out the circle shapes from the dough. The only suggestion I would make would be to add more flavor to the filling. Maybe some spices, or garlic mashed potatoes would give it a bit more flavor. But overall, a really good recipe, and somewhat easier than other pierogie recipes I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My mother makes these weekly - she adds cheddar cheese to the filling with salt & pepper, or makes it the traditional Ukrainian way by adding bacon & onions that have been fried to the potato mixture. We usually eat them boiled and not fried, with sour cream! My comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I agree it's not my family's Polish recipe, but who's to say it's not polish? Many cooks change and adapt recipes, and this could have been the same. You can stuff these, like any dumpling, with a variety of different fillings. Sauteed mushrooms and onions, stewed prunes or other fruits, a slightly sweet filling made from hoop cheese (can be special ordered from many delis or can use farmers or ricotta cheese for a similar taste), sugar, cinnamon and raisins (my favorite), etc. We always served our pierogis with melted butter. They are a little on the bland side, but you can jazz them up to your own preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe is Definitely NOT the Polish recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is basically the same dough my family uses except we use ice cold water and some salt with the flour and sour cream its a very good dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've never had pierogies so I can't compare these to other pierogi recipes. The dough started out easy but after I cut out the rounds and starting filling them - I had to dust them in lots of flour. It started to get really sticky on me. I used garlic mashed potatoes in these and I have to say, overall, they were still pretty bland tasting. The onions did give a slight bit of extra flavour. I have to say, these reminded me of a local dish called "Aloo Pie" but the filling is spiced up with roasted geera powder and hot pepper sauce and the dough is made differently. Also, the aloo pies aren't boiled, they are just deep fried. Overall, these were okay. I might make again and doctor up the filling more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i dont see polish anywhere on the recipe the end result speaks for itself it it good or no!!i substituted fried beacon bits instead of the onion..couldnt get enuf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States