Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I admit I was surprised with how well these came out after all the work. I definitely recommend pan-frying them in olive oil; it makes them crunchier and brings out the flavor. Topped with tomato sauce and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made these, but added sauerkraut to some, onions and cheese to others and they are delicious as well! I have grandparents from all over eastern Europe and NOBODY's recipe is the same. Not ALL Polish make it one way... how dumb. But I'll tell you, my grandmother made incredible pierogi with everything from prunes, to lemons to cheese and sauerkraut. They were all delicious. Her secret to get them to stick together??? she spit on the edges!!! She cracked me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe took some time to make but was a lot of fun to put together. We added cheese, onions and garlic salt to the potatoes. We also didn't use quite as much flour to the dough. We found that flipping them over and browning both sides worked best for us. The end product was delicious and we might add other indgredients such as a little spinach and mushrooms next time. This will be our new New Years Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
THE 5 STARS ARE FOR THE DOUGH!! I AM POLISH AND UKRAINIAN AND I WAS AFRAID TO WASTE THE INGREDIENTS (SOUR CREAM) IF IT DID NOT COME OUT. BUT...WOW!!! SO PLIABLE! I ROLLED PIECES INTO A "ROPE" APPROX 12" LONG, THEN CUT INTO 1" PIECES. I USED MY FINGERS TO MAKE A CIRCLE AND FINISHED IT OFF WITH A ROLLING PIN. AS FOR THE FILLING, I MADE 2 KINDS - I CUT POTATOES INTO CHUNKS ,BOILED UNTIL TENDER, WHEN SLIGHTLY COOLED I ADDED FARMERS CHEESE AND LOTS OF ONION THAT I SAUTEED IN A GOOD AMOUNT OF BUTTER. THE SECOND FILLING IS MY DAD'S ABSOLUTE FAVORITE, I USED FARMERS CHEESE, ONION WHICH I SAUTEED IN BUTTER AND FRESH DILL!!!! TO EACH MIXTURE I ALSO ADDED SALT AND PEPPER. AFTER I BOILED THEM, I SAUTEED THEM IN BUTTER /ONION MIXTURE UNTIL THEY WERE GOLDEN AND CRISPY ON EACH SIDE.PASS WITH PLENTY OF SOUR CREAM.MMMMMMMM.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The only thing I did different was added the onions to the potatoes. These didnt have much flavor so next time I will play with some spices. It does take a lot of time to prepare these so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I really did enjoy this easy recipe, it`s much better than going out to the store and buying pre-made because you don`t always know what goes in them and these ones take no time at all and very little ingrediants. The dough I agree, is a little bland and they don`t boil very nicely, but by adding a few things to fry them with makes all the difference. Even just frying them (no boiling) in some butter and a little seasoning works really well. Than, add some fried onions, bacon mushrooms and or pork you`ve got a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandinichol

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Homemade Pierogies are the BEST. They definitely can be time consuming (so make a lot, so it's worthwhile!) but they are so worth it. For the record, reviewers like QTSREIGN annoy me. This recipe doesn't state it's Polish and like every other food in the world...there are multiple recipes and preparations. Your grandmother passed down a fabulous recipe, regardless of the country of origin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiemama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Relatively easy to make and really yummy. I think the key is in the potatoes. I added onion powder and cheddar cheese and garlic to the potatoes for flavor. I also added about a 1/2 tsp. salt to the dough. If you are short on time, make about 4 massive calzone size pierogies! :o) Doing it that way also helps to not overwork the dough. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were great! Easy to make. The onions with them were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Not the Polish recipe!!!!!! Trust me, I am a ....ski For the dough- beat 3 eggs with 3 Tbs oil. Add hot water while beating vigorously (so you don't get scrambled eggs). Fold this into generous amounts of flour to form dough. Stuffing: day old potatoes from the fridge (this is important to kep them from getting mushy) mixed with farmer's cheese (ricotta can be substituted), salt, white pepper, and sauteed onion. Follow cooking directions as listed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States