Pierogies and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe came out beautiful with adjustments. I used a bag of coleslaw mix, cut out the veg. oil as there was enough drippings, added 1t. of sugar because of the store bought tomatoes and used fresh pierogies (also made with potato dumplings once) I did not have white wine vinegar so used red instead. This dish was fully of color and carried a nice taste and look. This is a keeper! Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
To die for! I'm a southern girl with no preconceived notions of what a pierogie should be - but this was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Used turkey kielbasa instead of bacon and packaged cole slaw mix, but everything else according to recipe. We loved it! Even my 3-year-old ate it. It wasn't a heavy dish with the change of kielbasa for bacon, was very colorful. The only thing I would change is I actually found it a little bland and will add more vinegar and more salt next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I love cabbage and my BF loves pierogies, so I thought this was the perfect compromise for us. It was excellent! I did leave out the bacon and substituted Splenda in place of the sugar and would make it again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My husband is used to having kielbasa with his pierogies so I sliced turkey kielbasa and heated in a pan with some olive oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. It was delicious! We all loved it and it's healthier than the original w/bacon. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was great. I used smoked sausage instead of bacon as suggested by another user. I was not very fond of pierogies before this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good. Not sure what a Pierogie is. I used what I had on hand, Torteiloni filled with Ricotta & Spinach. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
great with whatever vinegar you have on hand. very filling and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was delicious! I used a bag of cole slaw mix and the only bacon I had was pre-cooked - which I doubled the amount of. I crisped up the bacon in a pan with about a tsp of Olive Oil, then I added all the veggies to saute. I tripled the vinegar and sugar - which I used brown sugar and loved the contrasting tastes. It elevated the Peirogies and my mother devoured it! This is going to remain in my rotation for ever - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
We loved these. I like to bake the pierogies. This is the way I'll be making pierogies from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States