Pierogies and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Oh my Goodness, that was sooooo good. Followed the recipe pretty much to the letter... just didn't add the extra oil, wasn't really needed with the bacon drippings. Only had red wine vinegar but that didn't seem to hurt it any. It's five stars all the way and I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim2none

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was a great new way to combine my favorite ingredients. A few simple changes that brought rave reviews. I left out the tomatoes but I added julienned baby carrots in with the cabbage. Half way thru I added the parboiled perogies bringing them down to the pan bottom for a bit of browning. At the end I tossed 3/4 lb small shrimp in the empty pan for 2 minutes , then I returned everything to the pan for an additional 2 minutes. I will be passing this recipe around !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum! First time serving pierogies and we devoured this meal! Doubled the recipe and omitted the vegetable oil completely. Served with Polish sausage but it really wasn't necessary as this is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
We love pierogies, but I've never made them with cabbage or bacon. Those two ingredients just enhanced the flavor of the dish. I doubled the batch and added some tomatoes and sour cream before serving. They were wonderful the night we had them and very good as leftovers for lunch the next day. Molson7 - great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
As is typical, I didn't have everything listed in the recipe. I did not use bacon, but rather added a little butter to get the cabbage and onions soft. Overall, it was delicious. I love cabbage and had never thought to serve it with perogies, although I probably should have. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Made this last night for dinner. It was absoultely delicious. I used low salt bacon and I did add two tablespoons of sour cream at the end. I also pan fried the pierogies just a little because the family likes them a little crunchy on the bottom. No left overs in this house! Thank you Molson7 for the quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is delicious. I had been cooking pierogies before, experimenting, but this is absolutely delicious. I did modify it by subtracting the bacon. Too many calories there! I used Red Cabbage, Mushrooms, Onions and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I thought this recipe was very good. I added Splenda (anout 1 teaspoon) to offset the vinegar. Also, I used pear-infused balsamic vinegar. I did not use the vegetable oil, because the bacon dripping were enough. All-in-all very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenstar311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great, but skipped the bacon and used canola oil to make it veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious! I made the recipe exactly as stated, and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States