Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! Can freeze and then boil off later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for a Superbowl party. Being the only Steelers fan I felt the need to bring something Pittsburgh-style. I made them ahead of time, sauteed in butter/onions, and poured it all into a crock pot with a little extra butter. The were pretty much gone by the end of the first quarter. Nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i used half the amount of filling. Boil for 5 then drain and pan fry the best!..Alot of work though! NOTE: dough is sticky! needed extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My first time making pierogi from scratch! I remember eating these when I was a kid. Made them for my family and they loved them! I think I rolled the dough a little thick-- I will fix that next time. Otherwise they were great! Instead of a Sauerkraut filling (my family doesn't like) I made a potato and cabbage combo- Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Made these over the holidays. The dough was very easy to work with. The only thing I changed was instead of the sauerkraut filling, I used a sweet potato, apple and bacon filling. Talk about delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I found this to be a very good base recipe for pierogi - I especially like the sour cream in the dough. I had previously used my pasta recipe that I use for ravioli but this one seems more tender. One note - I had to add an extra cup or so of flour to get this dough through my pasta roller. I used the potato filling with the following changes: I used 2 shallots instead of onion and added 1c of shredded cheddar cheese. It was an accomplishment not to eat this straight out of the bowl. Things I do differently with the assembly: I use a small cookie scoop to scoop the filling, then shape it with my fingers. I wet the edge of the dough with my finger, then press to seal. Once I've done this with a batch (about 12), I crimp all the edges with a fork then put in salted boiling water. Once they're all in, I stir once, boil for 1min, remove with a spider skimmer and place on a plate. Once they cool a little, I brush with butter and place in a tupperware to freeze or cook immediately. When I'm ready to eat them, I run it in the microwave to melt the butter and then pull out the ones I want. I then pan fry til golden brown. If I've just made them, I just pan fry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Tried this recipe last night. Everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was that I added chopped crispy bacon to the potato filling. Why? Because everything is better with bacon ;). I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this recipe! This is delicious and would be great with so many different variations of fillings. I used the potato filling with a Mushroom Goulash. Awesome. The only thing that I am not a fan of is how long this recipe takes. The prep time is much longer with the making of the dough, cutting, filling, wetting, folding, crimping. I know this is just the way it is with this kind of recipe! But...it does make a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were a lot of work! My only experience with pierogi are the frozen Mrs. T's brand. Which I've always loved. The tasty dough from this recipe was my husband's favorite part! I had a bit of trouble rolling out the dough, it kept sticking regardless of adding more and more flour to the table during rolling. I'm sure this is more a user error thing, I've never been good at rolling out dough. I used the Traditional Mashed Potato recipe from this site and just added the sauteed onions to it. Rolling the dough and closing each dumpling was harder than I expected. I wasn't able to roll it thin enough, it kept sticking. I almost threw the batch away instead of pan frying them (and wasting more time and butter). I'm glad I didn't. The dough was surprisingly delicious and the filling was a perfect compliment. The next time, I will try to roll the dough between floured wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were exactly how our Polish friends make them. Soooo good, and a lot easier for a first-timer than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States