Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I thought these were okay. The dough was very sticky, a little to hard to work with so I had to add a lot more flour to be able to handle it. The final taste was pretty bland. We don't like sourkraut so I just used the potato. The kids had a ton of fun making these but wouldn't eat them. If I make again, I will add something a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Didn't use the filling recipe, but the dough recipe was amazing. First time making pierogies and definitely will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
It came out fantastic, but I changed just a few things. Since I was born and raised in Poland, and saw how the Sauerkraut filling was made, I tried to reproduce that original flavor. You NEED to cook the sauerkraut in water (just enough water to cover it )for at least 1/2 hour before doing anything else!!! Otherwise it would be too hard. I also added dried mushrooms to the sauerkraut while boiling it. I 1st soaked them in water overnight, and then boiled them (50 dried mushrroms/ soak in 2 cups of water & boil them in the same water). After boiling the Pierogis, you can fry them with Onion until golden brown. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The recipe printed in columns and I missed that there are two different fillings. I made one big batch of combined filling (wondered for a moment at the onions on there twice... evidently not long enough). It was fantastic! The combination of potato AND sauerkraut turned out so tasty! The dough was wonderful to work with (I ran it through my Kitchenaid pasta roller) and had a perfect texture. This recipe is going in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
You need to add flour until the dough no longer sticks to your fingers. Do NOT roll to 1/8" thick, the finished Pierogis will be 1/4" thick!! Roll as thin as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
So easy! I used my kitchenaid for the dough and instant mashed for the filling so the only time consuming part was filling the dough. I'm going to experiment with different fillings like bacon and cheese, mushroom, maybe even raspberry ricotta or something for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Only used the dough and did our own thing for the filling, but the dough was great. Excellent texture, easy to roll out nice and thin, and then perfect and delicate when eating. Way better than that mooshy potato dough of commercial perogies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good! Can freeze and then boil off later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for a Superbowl party. Being the only Steelers fan I felt the need to bring something Pittsburgh-style. I made them ahead of time, sauteed in butter/onions, and poured it all into a crock pot with a little extra butter. The were pretty much gone by the end of the first quarter. Nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States